Merit Pay for All

The president has this to say:
“All teachers should get merit pay.
Their checks will be more
If their students score
At top of the curve on test day.”

 
© 2009 by Magical Mystical Teacher
 
Thus speaks the president. To read what many teachers think about merit pay, click here.

Posted on November 12, 2009, in merit pay, my limerick. Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Too many hoops to jump through.
    Not enough time for the kids.
    So this is what teaching has come to.
    Education is now on the skids.

  2. Right now, I work for a principal that likes me and I could see myself getting merit pay, even if my results aren’t great because he knows what I do and respects the fact that I always work with the bottom. But, that hasn’t always been so. The las principal hated me and I could have had the best results in the city and he would have found a way to discredit me. Merit pay will never work.

  3. I cannot see merit pay being of value. Especially for teachers who work in low-income, specific areas. Test scores do not assess a teacher’s merit. It is in the love of learning.

    I have written a lot about this. And reflected much. Especially, with principals who did not like me.

  4. The President he is a pip
    For letting remarks like that slip
    If I had my way,
    we’d give teachers fair pay
    and not make then hope for a tip

  1. Pingback: poem anyone « Rants of a Music Educator

Please Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 470 other followers

