Seven Postcards

original
 
 


My heart waits for words
as people wait for postcards
from their friends in France.
 
~~~ ~~~ ~~~
 
Can I write my way
from the west coast to the east,
postcard by postcard?
 
~~~ ~~~ ~~~
 
My paltry paycheck
won’t even buy one postcard
or a postage stamp!
 
~~~ ~~~ ~~~
 
I begin to write,
but the postcard is too small
for my flood of words.
 
~~~ ~~~ ~~~
 
These ten thousand tales
will not fit on a postcard,
so I write a book.
 
~~~ ~~~ ~~~
 
I cannot resist
this County Dublin postcard—
Irish luck to you!
 
~~~ ~~~ ~~~
 
landmarks of my life—
six postcards in a shoebox
read but once or twice

 
Text © 2012 by Magical Mystical Teacher
 
More Sensational Haiku Wednesday: “Postcard”
 
More The Poetry Pantry #103

Posted on June 20, 2012, in haiku, senryu, Sensational Haiku Wednesday, The Poetry Pantry. Bookmark the permalink. 12 Comments.

  1. Well done ~ you rose to the challenge ~ Wonderful ~thanks, namaste, ^_^ ( A Creative Harbor)

  2. These ARE sensational!! I’m a first time poster both here and on Sensational Haiku Wednesday.

  3. I always try to fit too much onto a postcard! A terrific series.

  4. Great series….I have written my way across Europe, but, alas, could only squeeze in “wish you were here”!

  5. Love these….wish I had thought of all of them…

  6. All are wonderful, but my favorite is the “flood of words” haiku. It reminds me of the too-few times I’ve written postcards–you captured it well.

  7. Snippets of the moment…The haiku are like postcards in themselves! Beautiful!

  8. A postcard is so small it leaves much to the imagination.

  9. beautiful haikus and photos!!

  10. Superb writing…. you have really explored so many different facets in this poem… loved this new view.

  11. wow a whole bunch of great haikus

  12. I can identify with most of these gems! I like the last the best, I think.

Please Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 536 other followers