Seven with Simon

82.second shot
 
 

The first line of each haiku or senryu is taken from “Time as Memory as Story” by Simon J. Ortiz.
 
 


Time has no mercy
on birds or stones or children—
cold are the ashes.
 
~~ ~~ ~~
 
We never had much,
but what we had was enough—
birdsong in our souls.
 
~~ ~~ ~~
 
You can never tell
when the next phantom will come
to pounce on your soul.
 
~~ ~~ ~~
 
Days and nights were safe,
although my mother warned me
nothing stays the same.
 
~~ ~~ ~~
 
Who were the strangers
behind the adobe walls,
plotting our demise?
 
~~ ~~ ~~
 
To be in fifth grade
is to sip from a dry brook—
your tongue turns to wood.
 
~~ ~~ ~~
 
I yearned for blue song
from throats of silver lizards
leaping at the sun.
 

 
© 2012 by Magical Mystical Teacher
 
 
More The Sunday Whirl, Wordle 82
 
More The Poetry Pantry #123

Posted on November 11, 2012, in haiku, senryu, The Poetry Pantry, The Sunday Whirl. Bookmark the permalink. 25 Comments.

  1. Birdsong in our souls – sounds like that might be enough!

  2. You can never tell
    when the next phantom will come
    to pounce on your soul.

    I like that one!

  3. Nice one/..Liked the last one

  4. I yearned for blue song
    from throats of silver lizards
    leaping at the sun.

    I personally liked this stanza the best.

  5. These are dark and drifty. Well done, each.

  6. The 5th grade haiku has be my favourite. Love that one.

  7. as ever, wonderful, stirring images..drawing to a striking close. fascinating stuff.

  8. Ah, I have missed these. What a lovely collection to come back to.

  9. A lovely set. I particularly like the juxtaposition of the last two.

  10. A beautiful set … so complete … loved it !!!

  11. Bravo! I love each one, but my favorite is the first for its sad truth.

  12. I love each and every one. Together they describe the constant battle we wage with fear and hope. Gorgeous writing,

    Elizabeth

    http://soulsmusic.wordpress.com/2012/11/11/staring-into-the-future/

  13. Love that last one especially.

  14. To be in fifth grade…I think that was around when I started writing. They say the age of reason starts when we are around seven. Perhaps I was a late bloomer?

    I am also with those who find that last haiku enchanting.

  15. Yes, we had enough ‘birdsong in our souls’. I love your haiku wordle. As usual you always make me think.

  16. So many juicy tidbits…I couldn’t pick a favorite.

  17. Love the second one, mmt. A lovely collection as always. In reply to your comment on my blog, I often wonder how people who write don’t know some grammatical rules. It is perplexing to me.

    Pamela

  18. The first hits home, hard. The last, delightful imagery. Enjoyed them all.

  19. What a lovely set ~ My favorite is the first one, time has no mercy ~

  20. Wonderful haiku, mmt! I love all of them, but the last is my favorite!

  21. Too many wonderful lines to list – but my special favorites are “birdsong in our souls” (beautiful!), the fifth grade haiku (which is INCREDIBLE, and absolutely accurate), and your final stanza which is simply perfection. Sigh. A feast in here tonight, kiddo.

  22. They’re all wonderful, but “birdsong in our souls.” is also my favorite, sounds like you describe total bliss. I also like the third one, which I feel speaks of life’s uncertainty.

Please Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 491 other followers