Draw Nigh


 

Deep shadow beckons—
draw nigh the darkness, pilgrim,
hush and hear its heart.

 
© 2011 by Magical Mystical Teacher
 
Photo: Santuario de Nuestra Señora de los Remedios, Cholula, Puebla, México
 
More Haiku My Heart at Recuerda Mi Corazon here
 
More Haiku Heights with the theme “Nigh” here
 
More Straight Out of the Camera shots here
 
More Shadow Shot Sunday photos here
 
More Skywatch Friday photos here
 
More Himmelsk photos here
 

Posted on April 9, 2011, in Cholula, Haiku Heights, Haiku My Heart, Himmelsk, Mexico, my digital photos, my haiku, my senryu, Puebla, Shadow Shot Sunday, Sky Watch Friday, Straight Out of the Camera Sunday. Bookmark the permalink. 40 Comments.

  1. Always love your poetry, M. Also, I wanted to ask if you’re interested in reading the New Testament with several of us beginning on Monday. We thought it would be a good way to enter Holy Week, and there’s a plan to read the whole book in one week. However, how much one reads is not the point, of course. More details on my blog in case you feel like joining in. Blessings, M.

  2. The sky looks so beautiful from that shadow….

  3. Terrific capture, lovely words as always! Hope you have a great weekend!

    Sylvia

  4. I feel beckoned to the edge of this photo. Great shot.

  5. Great dark defined shadow, wonderful sky and as always, a great hailu. I like that word nigh. Not used much these days. I’ll look into it. Hope all goes/went well.

    Peace

  6. Perhaps we feel trapped in the shadow, yearning to leave the depth of shade and see the blue skies in a sunnier realm. Which we do at this sunny plaza in the warm and sunny Sonoran. The need for light and freedom is what I see in the beauty and affirmation of life…

  7. The shadow must be so welcoming after climbing all those stairs and reaching the pinnacle in the hot noonday sun. Time for quiet, a moment of reflection. Lovely, MMT.

  8. Hi MMT … I love it all, the photo and the poem.

    Happy SSS!

    Kathy M.

  9. What I ask from you? Good prost and the sunny day? A perfect combination.

    Happy SSS…
    /chie

  10. beautiful, thoughtful post…
    have a great week.

  11. Loving the way the shadow completes “frame” on the side. Of course, we always love your poems as well 🙂

  12. Love the shadowy arc! It seems to enchant and invite to stay awhile! And your poem is very beautiful!

  13. Image and Haiku – perfect marriage. Lovely post! Thank you for visiting ~

  14. Beautiful sky, shadows and sunshine!

  15. Cool shot for shadow shot…Happy SSS!

  16. I like the simplicity of this shot. Well done!

  17. lovely words and a great shadow to go with it

  18. Shade and sun, a love relationship, beautiful

  19. Love the colours and stillness of this shot! Great composition!
    Love your haiku of course!

  20. That’s beautiful! Both photo and haiku! I’m hushing and I hear the heart 🙂

  21. Interesting place and great shot

    Visit my Husband and son’s Shadow. Thanks

  22. Great shadow shot, love the contrast of the blue sky.

  23. Wonderful shadow shot.

  24. What a striking image… love the haiku…

  25. lovely view on the stunning blue sky. have a great week mmt!!

  26. what a beautiful haiku … so much depth in those words.
    lovely,

  27. i would love to see the view from there!

  28. I want to explore beyond the edges of this photo. Lovely!

  29. I’m with Kelly! Very curious as to what lies beyond the edge…definitely a take me there I wanna go kind of image.

  30. Lovely blue sky with the tree behind. The shadow is nicely captured. As always, your haiku is superb.

  31. As always, you put words together in such a nice way–lovely post. Mickie 🙂

  32. Cross slate and tile, seek
    Respite from the bright heat in
    The cool quiet realm.

    Cheers!
    JzB

  33. beautiful as always………

  34. love the shadow and blue sky.
    thanks for the visit.

  35. I love the line “hush and hear its heart”. Nice Haiku!

    You are and always shall be my Haiku Master.

    (of course the word “Pilgrim” made me imagine it in a John Wayne accent, and that kinda spoiled the effect. lol.)

    Beautiful photo too, however in the photo it is the light and sky that beckons..

  36. Great contrast between the hot bright sun and the cool deep shade of the building.

  37. I love the composition of this shot. Wonderfully captured.

  38. Wonderful photo! And I just wanted to tell you that this week’s poem that you left in your comments “Welcome the Shadows” I think it was called, is fantastic!! I always like your poetry, but this one really stood out to me. Love it.

    xoEsther

Please Leave a Reply

