Sponge

Photobucket
 

Are you not a sponge
soaking up green-golden light,
Sunflower Maiden?

 
Text and photo © 2011 by Magical Mystical Teacher
 
Photo: Northern Arizona
 
More The One-Minute Writer with the theme “Green” here
 
More Haiku My Heart at Recuerda Mi Corazon here
 
More Haiku Heights with the theme “Sponge” here
 
More Straight Out of the Camera shots here
 
More Shadow Shot Sunday photos here
 
More SkyWatch Friday photos here
 
More Himmelsk photos here

Posted on October 22, 2011, in Arizona, haiku, Haiku Heights, Haiku My Heart, Himmelsk, Northern Arizona, Shadow Shot Sunday, Sky Watch Friday, Straight Out of the Camera Sunday, The One-Minute Writer. Bookmark the permalink. 40 Comments.

  1. A beautiful photograph.

  2. ya plant and even we too are sponge…

  3. I like that plant and sky. Plants rules the universe. If you leave anything alone for any amount of time, they take over!

  4. it would appear that it is a sponge. there is nothing happier than a sunflower in the sun!! happy sss mmt!

  5. Hi Maam,

    Been too long I missed out your great & educational posts this past months.

    Hopefully coping up the game.

    Have a ahppy w/end and GB.

    hugs,
    /chie

  6. nice shot-love sunflowers!

  7. It is kind of interesting to see a sunflower, alive or not, in the desert. The shot is great under the dry blue sky, the geeen, sun and shadow being nature’s artistry…

  8. Great shadow shot and words for the day! I do love that BLUE sky! Enjoy your weekend!

    Sylvia

  9. great shot! I love your perspective. and I can’t imagine that you’ve ever written even a “not-so-good” haiku. I love each and every one. so this begs the question – how many scraps of paper litter the floor where you sit and write? ha! happy weekend to you MMT.

    • magicalmysticalteacher

      No paper scraps, Ms. Becky. I do all my composing either on my laptop or in a notebook. I never throw anything away–I might be able to use it someday!

      And, yes, I have written MANY not-so-good haiku. Anne Lamott, in her book “Bird by Bird,” calls them “shi**y first drafts.” 🙂

  10. Love this MMT! A sunflower soaking in all of the sunlight – beautiful!

  11. awww I totally loved the imagery 🙂 sponge is so beautifully used here

    • magicalmysticalteacher

      I’ll probably never write another haiku in my life with the word “sponge” in it. I mean, really, who writes haiku about sponges??? 🙂

  12. An unusual angle, and as always excellent text!!

  13. i like the way you replied to the prompt with a question.. and nice picture too ~

  14. It has to soak in much of the sunlight to stay true to its name especially with the approaching winter!!

  15. What an interesting shot! Love your haiku as well!

  16. Neato ShadowShot. Looks like some critter was enjoying more than the aesthetic quality of this sunflower! Happy SSS.

  17. Beautiful shadow shot !!

  18. So green for such a dry brown hill. – Margy

  19. I, like that golden sunflower am happiest when soaking up that sun. It just makes me happy! Love a wonderful sunny day. Thanks for coming by and leaving me the fun scarlet poem. Have to say that that scarlet red went to my head a long time ago. I am truly a lover of red!

  20. I think it’s soaking up the water from somewhere too…

  21. Never thought of it that way, but it sure fits perfectly! Indeed, a sponge soaking up all the sun it can.

  22. an interesting way of looking at the prompt. 🙂

  23. Beautiful shot… the shadows on the leaves are stark in contrast to the blue sky!
    ~Rainey~ @ The Project table

  24. This is very true of everything ‘under the sun’, (Pun obviously intended). Love the sunflowers and how they reach for the sun. Love your use of words today.

    Peace

  25. The way the light paints shadows on the leaves is so appealing.
    Thanks for stopping by earlier.

  26. Great shot…love looking up! Perfect sentiments to go with it too!

  27. You created a wonderful perspective in this shot!

  28. Hi MMT,

    I love this one! I haven’t been around for a while and just wanted to say hi.

    Kathy M

  29. This is always one thing I thought was so cool to plant when I was VERY young.
    I still love them.

  30. beautiful! words were put together so gracefully

  31. Sunflowers are my favorite.
    In Italy I noticed how quick they grow….
    Have a good week!

  32. A great Haiku to go with a beautiful photo. It’s starting to fell chilly here, would love some of that sunshine.

  33. love the photo and haiku…a sunflower maiden ….:)

Please Leave a Reply

