La Divina Pastora

 photo ZacatecasDec11706_zps84fad7be.jpg
La Divina Pastora (The Divine Shepherdess), artist unknown, Museo Zacatecano Zacatecas, México
 


 
In her dreams
she gambols with lambs—
white and black.
 
~~ ~~ ~~
 
Holy Shepherdess,
lead us to the rivulet,
where your sheep may drink.

 
Text and photo © 2013 by Magical Mystical Teacher
 
More Ruby Tuesday Too
 
More Haiku Heights: “Rivulet”
 
More Carpe Diem: “Dreamtide”
 
More A Virgin a Day at Recuerda Mi Corazon

Posted on December 8, 2013, in 3-5-3, 5-7-5, A Virgin a Day, Carpe Diem, Haiku Heights, Mexico, Museo Zacatecano, Recuerda Mi Corazon, Ruby Tuesday Too, Zacatecas and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 25 Comments.

  1. Interesting image….I love the subtle colours…also the profound words…..thank you!

  2. It’s peaceful, almost like folk art. Mexican folk art I guess, but the colors are so soft and unusual.

  3. Yes, different than any others, I love new(to me) discoveries!
    And your haiku too♥ ♥

  4. wonderful; have a nice Sunday

    much love…

  5. The image is so serene and so is your haiku.

  6. Love the idea of the Divine Shepherdess!!

  7. What a spectacular piece of art in its soft, pastel colors–the divine shepherdess, keeping white and black sheep safe. I’ve long had an affinity for sheeps and lambs and when I decorated my tree last night, I loved each lamb and sheep I hung.

  8. I love the whimsical and storytelling nature to this haiku. Beautifully done!

  9. Gamboling with lambs sounds like a pleasant enterprise! 😉

    Dreaming

  10. The shepherdess tends to her flock in a loving way, teaching and providing direction to ewe and lamb alike. Caring and caressing, she attends to all keeping them all safe – and the wool borne creatures appreciate her presence…

  11. holy shepherdess
    immaculate conception
    multicolored flock

    Cheers!
    JzB

  12. A beautiful piece of sacred art. Love the subtle blending of colours and the pretty frame.

  13. Wonderful pictures and poem.. I love the word rivulet..

  14. A beautiful story … loved the fairy tale feeling it evoked 🙂

  15. This is such a different take. Absolutely brilliant.

  16. Truly lovely! I’m off to Mexico myself this weekend!

  17. This is so different…
    Nice!!!

  18. I love the spirituality of this. Sublime.

Please Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.