Butterfly

 photo Los Alamitos.butterfly_zps1izxo8ub.jpg
Butterfly gathering nectar at Rancho Los Alamitos, Long Beach, California

 
“I hear America singing,” Walt Whitman wrote, “the varied carols I hear.”
 
I too hear singing, but instead of coming from throats of carpenters, masons or boatmen, it comes from sky and star and stone. It comes from weeds and wind and wild things. It comes from crow and cricket and cottonwood. It is the singing of the Desert Southwest, and like the Siren songs that seduced Odysseus and his companions, I cannot ignore it.
 
I hear it as I help a student proofread her essay. I hear it while I confer with a parent about his son’s behavior. I hear it while I am grading papers.
 
At day’s end, I slip into comfortable clothing and walk into the nearby wilderness. The stones and weeds and dust greet me with rejoicing. They knew I would come.

 


the shadows lengthen
a butterfly lifts its wings—
my house is too small

 
Text and photo © 2015 by Magical Mystical Teacher
 
More Macro Monday 2
 
More I Heart Macro at Shine the Divine
 
More Carpe Diem: “Kala Ramesh’s ‘Taking Flight'”

Posted on April 14, 2015, in 5-7-5, California, Carpe Diem, haibun, I Heart Macro, Kala Ramesh, Long Beach, Macro Monday 2, Rancho Los Alamitos, Shine the Divine and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 10 Comments.

  1. Oh! Breathtaking! 🙂

  2. What a lovely piece of literature…just beautiful!

  3. This is a very beautiful piece of work .. splendid!

  4. MMT, this is so beautiful.

  5. Awesome haibun very well done and that haiku so in touch with Kala.

  6. If anyone asks me about haibun, I’m sending them here. Ripper, teacherman; flawless executed..

Please Leave a Reply

