Breath

 photo 0c463d0a-eab2-4450-a345-68216d6695d2_zps5dhutlzj.jpg
Gnarled ironwood tree, Sonoran Desert, Southern Arizona
 


Winter afternoon—
a mourning dove leaves its breath
tangled in a tree.

 
Haiku and photo © 2016 by Magical Mystical Teacher
 
More SkyWatch Friday
 
More Poetry Pantry #289
 
More Haiku My Heart at Recuerda Mi Corazon

Posted on February 12, 2016, in 5-7-5, Arizona, haiku, Haiku My Heart, ironwood, Poetry Pantry, Poets United, Sky Watch Friday, Sonoran Desert, Southern Arizona and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 28 Comments.

  1. I will think of this haiku every time I see a bird in a tree, especially the Mourning Doves. Beautiful.

  2. Lovely image of the ‘dove leaving its breath in the tree’ ~

    Happy Weekend and Valentine’s Day to you ~ ^_^

  3. Beautiful photo with a most descriptive and beautiful haiku!

  4. I love those trees that capture a birds essence and keep it holy even after the bird is gone.

  5. oh how lovely… image and image laced words.

  6. This is so lovely… I want to climb into that tree myself…

  7. i have been thinking of all the traces of love we leave behind in a day. i feel yours in the tenderness of your haiku, in the wings of a dove.

  8. nice shot! love it – cant wait for winter here

  9. This haiku shall linger on in my mind for some time..

  10. And you caught it and shared it with us beautifully 🙂

  11. I do feel the chill in this!

  12. The distant, haunting cooing of the dove came to me as I read these words….lovely!

  13. What an exquisite crafted haiku. Luv it a lot
    A happy St Valentine Day to you

    Much love…

  14. Powerful imagery. I’m particularly intrigued by its ambiguity… The dreamer in mean embraces the beauty of the breath of a bird sitting on a branch after the bird flies away. Darker thoughts set my eyes on a bird forever separated from its breath.

    Brilliant haiku.

  15. There is something so sad about this. Like peace withered.

  16. This is lovely….to read and to envision……

  17. I think you get as much pleasure writing these haiku as we your readers do as well.

  18. I love this interconnection within the nature….what a nice example to follow…

  19. “a mourning dove.” well that’s kind of a first for me. doves are of peace and calmness and tranquil. I’ll take mourning. a mourning dove, that’s unique to think of. thanks.

    • magicalmysticalteacher

      Truly, that’s what they’re called: mourning doves.

      On Mon, Feb 15, 2016 at 2:52 PM, Magical Mystical Teacher wrote:

      >

  20. Snakypoet (Rosemary Nissen-Wade)

    Ahhhh!

Please Leave a Reply

