Screech

Lengthening shadows photo DSC_0029_zpse3vyxqsj.jpg
Winter afternoon shadows, Sonoran Desert, Southern Arizona
 


lengthening shadows—
the screech of a hungry hawk
sends mice skittering

 
Haiku and photo © 2016 by Magical Mystical Teacher
 
More Shadow Shot Sunday 2
 
More Sunday Scribblings 2: “Screech”

Posted on February 13, 2016, in 5-7-5, Arizona, Shadow Shot Sunday 2, Sonoran Desert, Southern Arizona and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 13 Comments.

  1. Paula Scott Molokai Girl Studio

    If I were a mouse, that sound would certainly send chills up and down my spine as I head for cover!

  2. Oh, very descriptive! I almost heard the screech! Wonderfully warm looking shadows on this chilly weekend!

  3. Love the way a shadow can slice a scene and the scatting mice give it so much more dimension.

  4. I’d be screeching right alongside them!

  5. So strange to see a wintry desert. The lighting is so beautiful.

  6. The haiku is beautiful. The Hawk however must be a youngster and will go hungry if he doesn’t keep quiet and just use his eyes before diving for his prey.

  7. I am mouse – hear me skitter..sorry don’t know what got into me – maybe the chocolate biscuit i just consumed..as ever a tight mix of word and image..you are a master of this craft

  8. Wow ! This is desert feeling !

  9. I don’t blame them! Wonderfully descriptive.

    Visit Keith’s Ramblings!

  10. Smart little critters…. Though I think the hawk that visit near my bird feeder have learned to not announce themselves.
    Especially this winter I’ve seen the Red Tail Hawk having lunch a few times. Not sure if ‘lunch’ was a field mouse, vole, or squirrel.

  11. Nice location and a long shadow well captured!
    Have a Beautiful Day!!
    Peace 🙂

Please Leave a Reply

