Poem

 photo DSC_0034204_zps2w9e8bv5.jpg
Anza-Borrego Desert State Park, Southern California
 


the distant mountains—
in my left hand a poem
to read on the way

 
Haiku and photo © 2016 by Magical Mystical Teacher
 
 
More Blue Monday
 
More Haiku Horizons: “Poem”

Posted on April 18, 2016, in 5-7-5, Anza-Borrego Desert, Blue Monday, California, haiku, Haiku Horizons, Southern California and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. That is an amazing experience!

  2. Only one poem? Hopefully it’s Homer…looks like a long trip!

  3. I would have shortened it to:
    distant mountains
    in my hand a poem
    to read on the way

    Not that there’s anything wrong with your haiku I like it! The modern (American) way to write haiku doesn’t worry so much about counting syllables the less you say the better. Look it up sometime. It’s not at all like writing three line free verse. Have a great week!

    • magicalmysticalteacher

      Thanks for your input, but it’s my earnest desire to perfect the 5-7-5 technique. I’m not at all interested in the so-called modern way. Best to you.

  4. No problem I did that too in the beginning. I think it’s great! It’s not so-called, it’s a fact that published popular haiku poets have written about and teach. Jack Kerouac had something to say about it too. Have a nice week!

  5. I actually like it the way you wrote it…the syllables have a nice rhythms to it when we read it and of course, I love this image…always enjoy reading your haiku, Teach! 🙂

    • magicalmysticalteacher

      Thanks, Cheryl-Lynn. I appreciate your words of affirmation!

      On Tue, Apr 19, 2016 at 6:20 PM, Magical Mystical Teacher wrote:

      >

Please Leave a Reply

