Songs

Photobucket
A dry wash in Apache County, Arizona

 
“I hear America singing,” Walt Whitman wrote, “the varied carols I hear.”
 
I too hear singing, but instead of songs coming from throats of carpenters, masons or boatmen, I hear the songs of sky and star and stone. The songs of weeds and wind and wild things. The songs of crow and cricket and cottonwood. All these songs come from the high desert, and like the Siren songs that seduced Odysseus and his companions, I cannot ignore them.
 
I hear them as I help a student proofread her essay. I hear them while I confer with a parent about his son’s behavior. I hear them while I am grading papers.
 
At day’s end, I slip into comfortable clothing and walk into the nearby wilderness. The stones and weeds and dust greet me with rejoicing. They knew I would come.

 

a cricket chirrups
three stones confer with the wind—
my house is too small

 
Revised haibun © 2016 and photo © 2012 by Magical Mystical Teacher
 
More Poetry Pantry #323 at Poets United

Posted on October 9, 2016, in Arizona, haibun, Poetry Pantry, Poets United and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 10 Comments.

  1. Mmm… Like this – what you have deftly achieved here certainly lingers with that last line….

  2. What I love the most, is the symbiosis… the sense that nature’s waiting for you… it has to feel you welcome… and I know how you might fall in love with the desert…(though it was almost 25 years ago I lived close to desert)

  3. Sigh. This is just so gorgeous. “I hear the songs of sky and star and stone”. I love all the songs you list, nd envy you walking out into the desert to enjoy its wonders.

  4. I love that cricket..and offer her more stones to build a bigger house

  5. Lovely message in this poem….especially enjoyed the way you worked with teaching!

  6. What a wonderful haibun Maggie. Nature whispers to us each day if we only care to listen.

  7. at the end of day , it is you and nature and that walk into the wilderness of thoughts..

  8. Rosemary Nissen-Wade

    That was beautiful to read.

  9. Beautiful writing and thoughts.

Please Leave a Reply

