Searching

Photobucket
Dried and battered wildflowers, Northern Arizona

 
As I shuffle through the arroyo, I keep dropping to my knees. An onlooker might mistake me for a pilgrim making my way to Lourdes. But the healing I seek cannot be found at some distant holy shrine. It is here in the dust at my feet: cedar twigs snapped off by storms; summer’s leftover flowers; small stones trying in vain to fatten themselves on wisps of winter sun.
 
I aim my camera at a clump of wasted wildflowers, remembering words from a letter written long ago: “God chose what is low and despised in the world, even things that are not, to bring to nothing things that are…” (1 Corinthians 1:28, RSV).
 
Low and despised is nature’s detritus in the arroyo, but it heals my battered spirit as I kneel in awe and wonder before it.

 


I kneel in the dust,
searching for underground streams—
three crows bear witness.

 
Revised haibun © 2016 and photo © 2012 by Magical Mystical Teacher
 
More Poetry Pantry #324 at Poets United

Posted on October 16, 2016, in 5-7-5, Arizona, Macro Monday 2, Northern Arizona, Poetry Pantry, Poets United and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 20 Comments.

  1. Fantastic photo. I love this one. >

  2. I believe you can turn ‘nothing’ into something really quite (M)agical

  3. I really like the Bible quote you chose.God really has His ways. And, as for the underground stream, I am sure it is there! Holiness can be found in all places, if one looks.

  4. Love the quote and how you extend it beautifully in your poem ❤️

  5. Wow! You take me with you. I want to know as, in this poem, the narrator is coming to know. Wow! Thank you for all of this, photo too.

  6. Fabulous haibun…and at haiku is too good!!

  7. You describe the desert so well with those stones trying in vain to fatten themselves… Maybe the desert is the best place to search for any pilgrim.

  8. Wonderful, to see and revere these small beauties that often go ignored.

  9. to find those underground streams, that bring forth life in unexpected places.

  10. Those dead flowers may still drop their seeds and survive to colour the desert once again…for what we see is only half the story

  11. Yes! Perfectly written, in my opinion 🙂

  12. This is a lovely post … and embodies the spirit of macro photography … you have to stop and think!

  13. Luv the healing nature’s wonder

    much love…

  14. What a beautiufl and soul searching haibun. 🙂

  15. Such deep reflection… I felt like I had chant it with my eyes closed, imagining myself standing on top of a very tall mountain. Wonderful piece.

  16. Rosemary Nissen-Wade

    Such wonderful writing! Magical and mystical indeed!

  17. Really outstanding haibun! Treasures can be found if you look closely enough.

  18. What a wonderful take on the beauty in small things, especially in the desert!

Please Leave a Reply

