Insectivores and Such

 photo IMG_1718_zpsqm5wquts.jpg
Thistle in bloom, Yavapai County, Arizona

 
 

Good morning, dear insectivore,
Are you looking for your lunch?
Crickets, gnats and flies to crunch?
There are tasty ones, I’ve heard, down in Ecuador!
 
Good day to you, dear carnivore,
Will you gobble down the lamb,
Or content yourself with Spam
Eaten with a silver spoon from the oaken floor?
 
Best of times, dear herbivore!
All the plants you suck and chew
Surely will bring luck to you—
Lettuces and succulents, growing near the door!
 
And you, my dearest omnivore,
Surely you crave anything!
In summer, winter, fall or spring
Taking nourishment’s the thing that you most adore!

 

Poem © 2016 by Magical Mystical Teacher
 
 
More Macro Monday 2
 
More Sunday’s Whirligig #83
 
More Poetry Pantry #326 at Poets United
Posted on October 30, 2016, in Macro Monday 2, Poetry Pantry, Poets United, Rhyming poetry, Sunday's Whirligig and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 15 Comments.

  1. You could have written the final lines for me!

    Yummy! – my whirligig

  2. We all need nourishment one way or another…..carnivore, herbivore, omnivore! Whatever one fancies…

  3. an enchanting write, luv the choice to rhyme this one
    Have a nice Sunday

    much love…

  4. Love your play upon words 😀 feisty!! ❤️

  5. Great usage of the word list, which defeated me simply by reading it, LOL.

  6. I wonder if it’s true that “you are what you eat”… safest to be omnivore then. I’d rather not be a vegetable at least.

  7. This made me smile, very witty use of words. Food for thought today!

  8. Super clever. I enjoyed reading this and admire how creatively you used these words. This was fun.

  9. Hahaha those of you that took that word(s) challenge did mighty fine when I thought those words were themeless. 🙂

  10. Love the romp through playful word sounds and meanings. Great photo of the thistle too.

  11. For such a heavy set of words, you found a light and lifting tone. Hats off to you,

    Elizabeth
    https://soulsmusic.wordpress.com/2016/10/30/classifications/

  12. Amazing write. Riddle-like form is very effective here. The spam line made me laugh lol

  13. I love your Thistle in Bloom! Very nice. #macromaonday

  14. What a fun poem and beautiful photo!

  15. Poem made me smile and would help kids remember which was which )). I’m still an omnivore, trying not to be, but in any case eating isn’t my absolute favorite thing (quite). I read somewhere a long time ago that bears, pigs, rats, and people were the only animals that are true omnivores.

Please Leave a Reply

