Hyperbole

 photo b2304b8c-b3ca-4e3b-a3ee-7edf3e95c83e_zpshrtz2qkb.jpg
A section of a church bookshelf

 
Many years ago I was invited to teach an adult Sunday school class. I read the text that we were supposed to discuss, the words of Jesus from Luke 14:26: “If anyone comes to me and does not hate his own father and mother and wife and children and brothers and sisters, yes, and even his own life, he cannot be my disciple.”
 
“This is an example of hyperbole,” I said. “Jesus is exaggerating for the sake of emphasis. He doesn’t really expect you to hate those who are near and dear to you.”
 
Willard bristled at my statement. “My Bible says that you have to hate them,” he said.
 
“It’s a figure of speech,” I countered. “Can you follow Jesus and hate your wife?”
 
“It’s not a figure of speech,” Willard insisted. “It says hate and it means hate.”
 
The rest of the class grew increasingly uneasy as Willard and I traded verbal blows.
 
At last I said, “I guess we’re just going to have to agree to disagree.” And I moved on.

 


one way to the light
goes through the house of darkness—
I open the door

 
Haibun and photo © 2016 by Magical Mystical Teacher
 
 
More Ruby Tuesday Too
  
More Midweek Motif at Poets United: “Hyperbole”

Posted on November 23, 2016, in 5-7-5, haibun, haiku, Midweek Motif, Poets United, Ruby Tuesday Too and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 13 Comments.

  1. “I open the door’ is a most intelligent move i think…very much enjoyable lines today 🙂

  2. And the train is derailed by Willard (lol). I agree with you Jesus in another statement tells us to love our neighbor as ourself. Happy Thanksgiving

    • magicalmysticalteacher

      Willard was quite a character, a crusty old guy!

      On Wed, Nov 23, 2016 at 9:37 AM, Magical Mystical Teacher wrote:

      >

  3. I quite enjoyed your response to the prompt! ❤️ Excellent write 🙂

  4. This is my most favorite! Ever! Your wisdom shines.

  5. Oh these words are so true – one way to the light goes through the heart of darkness – that is what I am holding onto – through the next few years, if we survive, there will be light and awareness on the other side. Excellent poem. The literal nature of some peoples’ beliefs, and how they interpret Jesus’ words and intent, can cause a lot of problems.

  6. It is all in the translation of course and understanding how much more there is to understand in life. Your parents set you free to find your own own way in life and how much more important it is to find that right way.

  7. I love the story. It seems that nothing can be taken verbatim. Light and truth is worth the darkness to get there.

  8. Powerful; I swayed towards The Scriptures also

    Have a nice Wednesday

    much love…

  9. Yes, those are hard words. I don’t think they can be taken literally either, but it is hard to argue with someone who does take them literally. To me they mean that Jesus should be the top priority – more important than wife, brother, sister, etc….

  10. Fascinating! Great piece.

  11. Some people don’t “hear” the teacher.

Please Leave a Reply

