Bedroom

 photo IMG_6965ruinsfront_zps2043f897.jpg
Abandoned house, Yuma County, Arizona
 


The bedroom of my childhood
Now shelters only mice;
The little house, neglected,
Long, long ago looked nice.
 
On weekends I still go there,
But only in my mind,
For memory now serves me
In ways both true and kind.

 
Poem © 2017 and photo © 2013 by Magical Mystical Teacher
 
 
More Midweek Motif at Poets United: “Nostalgia”

Posted on February 22, 2017, in Arizona, Midweek Motif, Poets United, Rhyming poetry, Yuma County and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 19 Comments.

  1. one could feel the emptiness in heart and that yearning for the past….

  2. memories hold up better than old houses.This was fantastic!

  3. I too go back to my childhood house whenever I can. Beautiful and poignant.

  4. A lovely contemplating. Happy Wednesday

    Much love…

  5. Yes, best just to go back in your mind, when it’s all as it once was. I went back recently to find my little one-room school was gone, the little roadside church was gone, and the little farm of my childhood was showing sad neglect. Like you, I will hold them in memory as they were. I truly connected with your poem!

  6. Once, I returned to my old apartment building in Bronx, New York. It had been torn down. Replaced by a clinic. I felt a pang of pain in my heart. Glad I have the memories. I so appreciate and like your picture and your words.

  7. I drew a floor plan of the house I first lived in. It is fun to go there in my mind. Sweet poem.

    • magicalmysticalteacher

      I’m glad you did that. I’m sure you had fun revisiting the house you once lived in.

      On Wed, Feb 22, 2017 at 1:54 PM, Magical Mystical Teacher wrote:

      >

  8. I love the memories both true and kind!!!!!

  9. Rosemary Nissen-Wade

    So apt, that last verse!

  10. Ah, I do understand this. My childhood bedroom is something I am very nostalgic for….it is one of my most vivid memories of my childhood.

  11. A few years ago I did go back to the house I was born in and spent my first 9 years. The sadness was overwhelming as the changes were so marked both in the house and the surroundings where I once played and this hurt so much.

    • magicalmysticalteacher

      So, was it worth going back?

      On Thu, Feb 23, 2017 at 4:12 AM, Magical Mystical Teacher wrote:

      >

      • Yes, nostalgia hurts but it is still worthwhile as the memory rush is amazing.

        • magicalmysticalteacher

          Good, I’m glad to hear that. I am thinking about going back to one of the homes I lived in as a child, and I have to confess to feeling more than a little apprehensive; but your experience helps to reassure me that going back won’t be an exercise in futility.

          On Thu, Feb 23, 2017 at 4:33 AM, Magical Mystical Teacher wrote:

          >

  12. Those imaginary visits can be kinder, healed by time and space.

  13. I really, really enjoyed your rhyme. It’s true, memories are sometimes more warm and fuzzy than they really were. Makes them all the better. Visiting an old house can be confusing take it from me. Lol!

Please Leave a Reply

