Bees

Photobucket
Bee visiting a poppy in bloom at Mission San Juan Capistrano, Southern California
 


From bees of either gender
I tend to run and hide.
I fear that they will harm me
The longer I’m outside.
 
Indoors, away from stingers,
I find a book or two
To while away the daylight,
Until the bees are through.

 
Poem © 2017 and photo © 2012 by Magical Mystical Teacher
 
 
More Macro Monday 2
  
More Midweek Motif at Poets United: “Gender”

Posted on March 29, 2017, in California, flowers, light verse, Macro Monday 2, Midweek Motif, Mission San Juan Capistrano, Poets United, Rhyming poetry, Southern California and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 18 Comments.

  1. You didn’t run and hide too soon because you got photos of the bees. Isn’t it fun to go out and find them buzzing about!

  2. Myself, I run, as fast as, my legs will carry me, at the sight of wasps or hornets, even with an Epipen, in my hands. Sigh.

  3. Normally bees are too busy to worry about me, and unlike wasps sting only at the last resort as they lose their lives doing so.

    • magicalmysticalteacher

      You’re a swatter, then! 🙂

      On Wed, Mar 29, 2017 at 5:06 AM, Magical Mystical Teacher wrote:

      >

  4. ha…unlike the humans males are harmless, no sting at all 🙂

    • magicalmysticalteacher

      True enough! Surprisingly, many people are unaware of that fact.

      On Wed, Mar 29, 2017 at 5:11 AM, Magical Mystical Teacher wrote:

      >

  5. Oh the bees! And the birds! I enjoyed this poem, though I’ve never run from bees. Hornets are another story.

    • magicalmysticalteacher

      Probably because hornets are so unpredictable!

      On Wed, Mar 29, 2017 at 5:56 AM, Magical Mystical Teacher wrote:

      >

  6. Bees have an important job to do and they are becoming extinct and our environment is going to suffer.. So, it is better to go inside and read a book than to kill them.

  7. What a light-hearted happy poem. I enjoyed it.

  8. I love this. Hiding from bees! So cute!

  9. Caution caution, makes good sense to me

    Much love…

  10. Rosemary Nissen-Wade

    I wish we had a lot more bees here to run from!

  11. Oh dear!! Even I am terrified of bees, though I’ve NEVER been stung by them! Good one, MMT!

  12. That’s really a cool way to put that….you will get stung…it is good to respect nature when it comes to gender!

  13. I was stung by a bee in Florence in a car. Italian bees are enthusiastic:)

Please Leave a Reply

