Showers

IMG_1943
A cloudless day, Sonoran Desert, Southern Arizona


We look for April showers
To settle desert dust;
Someday thunderheads will form—
We know they surely must.
 
Till then, however, nothing
Can put our souls at ease,
For dusty is the desert,
And torrid is the breeze.

 
Poem and photo © 2017 by Magical Mystical Teacher
 
 
More SkyWatch Friday
  
More Midweek Motif at Poets United: “April”

Posted on April 6, 2017, in Arizona, light verse, Midweek Motif, Poets United, Rhyming poetry, Sky Watch Friday and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 14 Comments.

  1. Ahh. Be still my desert loving heart. I love the cadence, the rhythm here. Made me smile and sway a bit.

  2. May the April showers be soon…

  3. The rhythm and rhyme of this poem is very pleasing.

  4. You painted a dry picture here. I hope you will soon get some rain.

  5. Great scene

  6. We have humid breezes here in SW Florida… it’s a wet heat ;))). Beautiful picture and poem. I am not talented… all I can do is smile!

  7. I love both the poem and the photo. And certainly can relate to the desert dust!!

  8. It’s just a pleasure to read this aloud. the rhythm is so pleasing to the ear. I’m a lush green-in-the-midwest kind of girl, and deserts and torrid breezes don’t sooth my soul, but your rhyme did!

  9. Rosemary Nissen-Wade

    Oh-KAY! Good luck!

  10. Such a playful and pouty complaint. I love it.

  11. Lovely…we are having those showers here.

  12. And how beautiful is the desert dusty air.

  13. Miles and miles of desert. Desert as far as one can see. And yet it is beautiful. I am hoping you get rain soon.

Please Leave a Reply

