Countless

Imperial Dunes photo DSC_0002_zpsi3o7gujv.jpg
Imperial Sand Dunes Recreation Area, Southern California
 


Countless grains of desert sand
Shifted in the wind last night.
More grains than you or I could tell
Shifted left, and shifted right.
 
Another windstorm’s coming,
Promising to blow and blow
Until those countless grains of sand
Find another place to go!

 
Poem © 2017 and photo © 2015 by Magical Mystical Teacher
 
 
More SkyWatch Friday
 
More Midweek Motif at Poets United: “A Grain of Sand”

Posted on April 27, 2017, in California, Imperial Sand Dunes Recreation Area, light verse, Midweek Motif, Poets United, Sky Watch Friday and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 24 Comments.

  1. Not only does it blow and blow here it seems that the weather offers us wind much of the time now. Scary to me.

    • magicalmysticalteacher

      I grew up in windy country (Kansas), so it doesn’t bother me too much.

      On Thu, Apr 27, 2017 at 4:14 AM, Magical Mystical Teacher wrote:

      >

  2. I love the rhyming rhythm, and the image of shifting sands.

  3. Thinking of this as allegory … I sometimes wish those grains of sand would merge and fight back!

    • magicalmysticalteacher

      I believe that may be what is going on in our current political climate: fighting back.

      On Thu, Apr 27, 2017 at 6:42 AM, Magical Mystical Teacher wrote:

      >

  4. Much like life – grains of sand must go where the wind blows.

    • magicalmysticalteacher

      I have found myself doing exactly that!

      On Thu, Apr 27, 2017 at 7:41 AM, Magical Mystical Teacher wrote:

      >

  5. “The grass is always greener,” in another place. Thank you.

    • magicalmysticalteacher

      I wonder why so many of us think so!

      On Thu, Apr 27, 2017 at 8:16 AM, Magical Mystical Teacher wrote:

      >

  6. Well done! I love the rhyme.

  7. Rosemary Nissen-Wade

    🙂 I think you know sand very well.

  8. Very beautiful. I wondered if you’d been to the Great Sand Dunes a couple of hours from where I live.

  9. I can feel that wind, shifting the sand………

  10. An immaculate desert – nature in perfection.

  11. Truly those sands are magical making different shapes and shadows as they move

  12. I like the poem very much and lovely picture.

  13. Where will the wind blow those grains of sand so far away and nobody knows

    Another nice one

    much love…

  14. I remember seeing sanddunes in Michigan many years ago. I was transported to another place and time.

  15. Beautiful sky shot juxtaposed with the lovely sand color and shape ~ thanks,

    Wishing you a fun weekend ~ ^_^

  16. Your shot takes me back to our sojourn in the Sahara last year. There is something exotic about the shapes of the dunes and shadows that is quite special. Nice job!

  17. Beautiful shot and beautiful poem.

  18. beautiful sand dunes snaps..love it!

Please Leave a Reply

