I wish I had a Harley

IMG_5520
Art on a boarded-up building, Ajo, Arizona
 


I wish I had a Harley
Instead of my old Schwinn;
I’d open up the throttle,
Go faster than the wind.
 
But all I have to take me
Someplace at a low cost
Is the bike I’ve had so long
That all its sheen is lost.

 
Poem and photo © 2017 by Magical Mystical Teacher
 
 
More Macro Monday 2
 
More Midweek Motif at Poets United: “Bicycles”
   

Posted on May 17, 2017, in Ajo, Arizona, light verse, Midweek Motif, Poets United, Rhyming poetry and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 16 Comments.

  1. Nice rhyme

    much love…

  2. Loss of sheen is a good defence against thieves, I learned at college. I gave mine away awhile back because I feared driving it in traffic and couldn’t carry it up the stairs. But I live outside Philadelphia now, and am thinking of trying one again–or a scooter, maybe.

  3. Sadly I have become sensible in my old age, and just indulge myself with memories instead!

  4. I always wished for a Harley but could never afford one. So I settled for a Yamaha years ago. With all the cars and crazy drivers today I wouldn’t ride a Harley or even a bicycle where I live. But some of the old guys here in my 55+ plus neighborhood have them, and when they go down my street I throw open the door and listen to that marvelous sound….and dream 🙂

  5. Khaya Ronkainen

    How lovely it would be to have that Harley! Brilliant light verse.

  6. Zen and the art of schwinn maintenance then!

  7. I’d be happy to have my old Schwinn back. I gave it up when my knees gave out, but I long to try bicycling again. I loved it so!

  8. What a delight…maybe you can’t ride a bike without fun! xoxo

  9. The key is to find the sheen again.

  10. I too loved motorcycles, but only rode behind a driver. Older, did get a bike, but had to give it to my daughter because of back issues. Like this lighter side.

    Elizabeth

  11. I remember my biking days, when I rode like the wind.

  12. I agree – a Harley sounds like great fun

  13. ” Go faster than the wind…”- ah, that gives an enormous sense of freedom!! Brilliant, MMT!

  14. A Bugatti is better:)

    • magicalmysticalteacher

      But a Harley, of course, is all-American! 😉

      On Fri, May 19, 2017 at 9:52 AM, Magical Mystical Teacher wrote:

      >

  15. My bicycle is an old Schwinn! A 31-year-old World Tourist that I’ve had since 1986. I used to have a couple of motorcycles and a scooter but never a Harley. All of my motorbikes were Hondas. I hope your wish comes true.

Please Leave a Reply

