Blue Monday: Desert Family

IMG_5456
Detail from a mosaic on a community wall, Ajo, Arizona
 


We’re a desert family,
We know the ways of stones,
Cactus wrens and rattlesnakes—
The desert’s in our bones.
 
To snatch us from the desert
Would make our poor hearts ache,
For desert-dwellers cannot thrive
Beside an azure lake.

 
Poem and photo © 2017 by Magical Mystical Teacher
 
More Poetry Pantry #362 at Poets United
 
 

Posted on June 5, 2017, in Ajo, Arizona, Blue Monday, light verse, Poetry Pantry, Poets United, Rhyming poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 26 Comments.

  1. Love this poem! I know many desert dwellers who feel the same. Right now I’m a mountain person–there is something about going up a high mountain thta makes me feel alive!

  2. What a beautiful mosaic and such a lovely poem you’re sharing with us today, thanks most sincerely, my sweet friend !

    Wishing you a most wonderful Blue Monday and new week,
    sending hugs and love to you

    XOXO Daniela at – My little old world – (Dany)

  3. Laura Bloomsbury

    I’m a city dweller and appreciate this poem greatly – made me smile – thank you

  4. That is a beautiful mosaic. The landscape does seep into the souls of desert people.

  5. It’s cool mosaic and wonderful poem.
    Thank you for hosting.

  6. You are such a talented lady. Don’t know how you do it, but each week your poems get better. So fitting.

  7. I really like the mosaic – some folks are so clever.

  8. Beautiful work of art.

  9. Lovely mosaic mural ~ ^_^

  10. Erm not in high summer….desert with access to the beach.

  11. I have always read this, that desert dwellers love the desert as much as ocean dwellers love the sea.

  12. True.. home is home and nothing else will do. (I checked the settings on my blog, don’t know why it won’t let you comment…did you try when you were not logged into WP, in which case it will require a name and URL)

  13. Love the mosaic mural and the lines.

  14. Ah, the magic of the desert, like love, austere.

  15. Beautiful write! The desert does have a magic of its own.

  16. I have never been to the desert, but will be making a trip that way in the fall.

  17. I love the mosaic image you used for your poem and indeed desert dwellers cannot live anywhere but the desert…..I myself need the lake.

  18. I spend 8 months in the desert … so part of it remains. But I think I can get used to the sea instead.

  19. Your rhyming continues to distill truth through compelling images. I like this very much.

  20. The opening two lines really grabbed me.

  21. Indeed, I think that people get used to the environment they grow up in…and it would be hard to adjust full time to another kind of environment.

  22. This is a beautiful wonder.

  23. You might be in the best place if you have water to live by while the rest of the world crumbles.

  24. Lovely photo and poem

    Happy Blue Monday

    much love…

Please Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.