Ordinary

DSC_0360
A duck pauses for a rest at Yuma Conservation Garden, Yuma, Arizona
 


An ordinary duck
On an ordinary day
Doing ordinary things
In an ordinary way.
 
But take another look
At that ordinary duck:
I think it’s quite amazing
That he’s not built like a truck!

 
Poem and photo © 2017 by Magical Mystical Teacher
 
 
More Midweek Motif at Poets United: “Seeking the Extraordinary in the Ordinary”

Posted on June 13, 2017, in Arizona, light verse, Midweek Motif, Poets United, Rhyming poetry, Yuma, Yuma Conservation Garden and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 15 Comments.

  1. Domestic ducks seem to have a serene nonchalance about them. Such beautiful creatures.

  2. A another awesome capture of this duck.

  3. For then he would surely sink! it is extraordinary and beautiful how creatures evolve!!

  4. Gorgeous! I thank the Designer for making it boat like 🙂

  5. Luv the wit, rhyme and profoundness of your poem

    much love…

  6. Each of us has our own faults, the duck flies, dives, and swims well so what if they waddle, three out of four is not bad.

  7. Tsk – they are funny little critters

  8. I love it. Such a pretty white duck.

  9. I love the whimsy of your poem. This fellow looks very like a pet I had as a child, who waddled behind me everywhere I went.

  10. Oh, lovely! Your delightful poem made me smile. Thank you!

  11. Rosemary Nissen-Wade

    Unique and wonderful indeed – when we take that closer look.

  12. I sense some humor. Thanks!

  13. This made me smile this morning! I am sure the duck is glad not to be built like a truck as well!

Please Leave a Reply

