Warriors

DSC_0160
Two saguaro cacti seem to be battling each other at Organ Pipe Cactus National Monument, Southern Arizona
 


Sometimes in this world you see things that are strange.
I once saw two cactuses out on the range,
And swear they were punching out each other’s lights—
It was one of those weird and wonderful sights.
 
I wonder if that’s the way things go on Earth:
Contentions beginning the moment of birth.
Does anyone think that all warring will cease,
So all of Earth’s creatures can revel in peace?

 
Poem and photo © 2017 by Magical Mystical Teacher
 
 

Posted on June 28, 2017, in Arizona, light verse, Midweek Motif, Organ Pipe Cactus National Monument, Poets United, Rhyming poetry, saguaro cactus, Sky Watch Friday, Southern Arizona and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 15 Comments.

  1. Well done! Great photo, too.

  2. I hope so..

  3. I do. All evidence is not against it.

  4. I wish. But it isnt looking too hopeful at the moment.

  5. I think humanity is in its infancy. We’ll not see it mature in our lifetime, but I like to believe that in the far distant future, it will. Between hope and despair, I chose hope.

  6. Good one It looks like these cactuses are fighting lol and I do hope peace will come. Nice one

  7. Grand image. To go beyond contention is the aim to become human methinks. Nice thoughts MMT 🙂

  8. I think you are permitted as we may call a sweet daughter a rose, or a recalcitrant boy as prickly as a cactus.

  9. We can only hope I suppose – thankfully nature knows the way

  10. If only there could be an end to contention!

  11. Boxing saguaros!! Great photo and love the poem.

  12. Oh I think they are dancing!!

Please Leave a Reply

