When I was a girl

masked girl
A mural on a house in San Miguel de Allende, Guanajuato, México
 


When I was a girl
I wanted to be someone’s wife,
washing his dirty clothes,
then hanging them out to dry
on leafless bamboo poles.
But the day I saw a blackbird
in the backyard bath,
its eyes aflame with fire,
I felt within my skin a stirring
to make paintings
envied by both monk and nun.
Now masked, with brush in hand,
I steal out every night
to splash the darkened city walls
with light, and then more light.

 
Poem and photo © 2017 by Magical Mystical Teacher
 
 
More Sunday’s Whirligig #120
 
More Midweek Motif at Poets United: “Masks”

Posted on July 19, 2017, in Guanajuato, Mexico, Midweek Motif, poetry, Poets United, San Miguel de Allende, Sunday's Whirligig and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 14 Comments.

  1. It’s almost as though you became a night flying blackbird. Enchanting.

  2. Great post! I like the mural!

  3. hypercryptical

    Lovely. Sometimes we need a little bird to show us our wings.
    Anna :o]

  4. Great use of those words. Excellent poem. Excellent prompt.

  5. A female Bansky, secretly splashing on city walls! Great write!

  6. This is wonderfully captivating..!

  7. This is gorgeous. Loved every line. And love the wall painting very much!

  8. Splashing with light…Wow…Beautiful.

  9. wow an amazing poem beautiful and powerful I adore these lines
    “I steal out every night
    to splash the darkened city walls
    with light, and then more light.”

  10. I agree with all the previous comments and add my applause.

  11. You certainly made the right choice! I’m a great Banksy fan and I love street art. Excellent.

    Click to visit Keith’s Ramblings

  12. Love, love, love this! Now I must ask if you have taken up a night job?

Please Leave a Reply

