Sanctuary

stepstoseaPNuevo_zpsb3b391e8
A seaside sanctuary, Puerto Nuevo, Baja California Norte, México
 
 

I will build a sanctuary,
using nothing but a piece of string
a beam, and a post.
It may seem inadequate,
or a mean affair,
but it will not shake
during times of earthquake,
nor will it leave me poor,
for in it my soul will be reborn
as old, familiar prayers trigger
freshets of new meaning
into my everyday life.
It will carry me through
flood and fire, locust and hail,
or any other plague that comes.
This is what a sanctuary is for,
and this is why I pick this place
beside the sea.

 

Poem and photo © 2017 by Magical Mystical Teacher
 
  

Posted on July 25, 2017, in Baja California Norte, Mexico, Midweek Motif, poetry, Poets United, Puerto Nuevo, The Sunday Whirl and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 17 Comments.

  1. This is what a sanctuary is for,
    and this is why I pick this place
    beside the sea.

    It is a privilege to be all prepared to be living by the sea. Some prefer the contrasting effects of rustling whispers of the sea waves which may be raging mad in a storm!

    Hank

  2. A very beautiful photo !

  3. I like the simplicity & unshakable faith.

  4. nor will it leave me poor,
    for in it my soul will be reborn
    as old, familiar prayers trigger
    freshets of new meaning
    into my everyday life
    Great lines That’s how strong a sanctuary can be

  5. I think we all look for tha place where we feel, safe, comfortable and part of scene and that is sanctuary indeed. A beauftiful poem.

  6. Sounds like the perfect sanctuary

  7. Oh my goodness, how I love this poem! Love the piece of string, the beam and the post. You have ocean and desert, and are doubly blessed!

  8. Yes, a place by the sea will do…or in the desert…on high on a mountain…almost any place will do.

  9. “…freshest of new meaning…” What a beautiful phrase. Yes, that’s what insight is, isn’t it.

  10. That should have read “freshets of new meaning.” Autocorrect is my nemesis.

  11. A perfect sanctuary…your poem comforts and relaxes me.

  12. You found peace and brought it to us.

  13. “in it my soul will be reborn”
    I know it will, so concentrated, so intentional and with beauty to spare.

  14. That wonderful poem is going into my collection … thank you…..

  15. What magical words you’ve gifted us! Thank you

  16. What a breathtaking photo! Your poem and this photo combine to form a rare peace.

  17. Beautiful lines… perfect ending…!!

Please Leave a Reply

