The worst of your poems

Leafmelange_zps85e4bc52
Fallen leaves along the Cache La Poudre River, Fort Collins, Colorado
 
 

Take the worst of your poems
and put them in the bottom left drawer
of the wooden desk that once
belonged to your grandmother.
Lock them away for at least
a year and a day.
Do not think about them,
do not try to revise them
in your mind
as you wash the supper dishes
or take the dog for a walk
or withdraw cash from the machine.
Leave them alone,
leave them for a year and a day,
and when you take them out again
you will see their flaws and imperfections
and you might change a word or two
but your regrets for having written them
will fall away
just as the red leaves
fall from the backyard maple
after autumn’s first hard rain.

 

Poem and photo © 2017 by Magical Mystical Teacher
 
 
More Macro Monday 2
  
More Midweek Motif at Poets United: “Kintsugi: Art of Mending” 

Posted on August 9, 2017, in Cache la Poudre River, Colorado, Midweek Motif, poetry, Poets United and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 13 Comments.

  1. This is amazing. I love it.

  2. I like this way of looking at the work of art. Nice.

  3. This is fantastic truth about poetry.

  4. ooooWooooo! Every detail is meaningful to me.

  5. Very beautiful I love how your say “the regret will fall away
    just as the red leaves fall from the backyard maple” Great

  6. Oh, so very beautiful. Love the imagery, too.

  7. What with all the posting sites clamoring for entries very few poems are stashed away for later. I’ll just cry over the poems that I thought were good but nobody else did! Your poem is however beautiful!

  8. Brilliant! My wish for all those “meh” poems I write is that they find resurrection in a year and a day. Thank you.

  9. Perfect.. I can picture that drawer of poems so clearly

  10. Isn’t this the truth. Sometimes they don’t look so bad after a year or two.

    • magicalmysticalteacher

      This one, that you read and appreciated, is one that I put away for a year. It has the “bones” of the poem I stashed away, but I did some tinkering with it a few days ago, and it’s better now than when I first scribbled it a year ago. Thanks for reading!

      On Thu, Aug 10, 2017 at 2:02 AM, Magical Mystical Teacher wrote:

      >

  11. I feel the same way. I am always happy to have written the poems I have written. And so true – that if one doesn’t read them for a while & comes back to them in fresh eyes one finds ways of improving them that one did not see initially! But there IS beauty in the imperfection nonetheless.

Please Leave a Reply

