Making Memories

IMG_1633 (1)
Photo illustration for a Guadalajara Reporter story in 2016, Guadalajara, Jalisco, México


Someone made some memories,
Made them long ago,
Using a film camera,
And this is what I know:
 
The women in the photo
Do not smile or blink.
Their bland looks betray nothing—
One wonders what they think.
 
Each woman holds a doggie,
The doggies are quite still.
Were the little beasties drugged
And held against their will?
 
And what about the ribbons
The women do not wear?
Are they content with hair spray
To batten down their hair?
 
A hundred questions pop up
About this photograph;
Some of them are sobering,
And some just make me laugh.

 
Photo © 2016 and poem © 2017 by Magical Mystical Teacher
 
 
More Midweek Motif at Poets United: “Memories”

Posted on September 6, 2017, in Guadalajara, Jalisco, Mexico, Midweek Motif, Poets United, Rhyming poetry and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 17 Comments.

  1. LOL… drugged puppies and hair spray.. :)))

  2. Tsk – what a lovely romp

  3. They look like sisters. I am old enough to remember the slow shutter speed in photographers studios and the need to retake the shot if the photograher sensed a movement by a subject!

  4. Haha! I, too, interrogate the old photos. It’s a form of research for staging theatre–but it is also the most fun my curiosity has.

  5. Really love how you spun your imagination and also feel tempted to read what was written probably about them 🙂

  6. … and your poem made me laugh, thank you.

  7. The puppies are well-behaved… Your piece made me smile. 🙂

  8. The Stepford Wives come to mind, lol. I lived on the fringe of that way of being for women, then the women’s movement burst upon me. Such relief. I felt older as a Stepford Wife than I do now, at 71. LOL.

  9. Your poem made me smile 🙂 we do tend to ponder over old photos..

  10. What rollicking good fun dissecting the unusual photograph. Thank you for this feast of humor!

  11. Many question and the photo suddenly becomes interesting Looks like a family , dogs and the women

  12. What a strange, staged photo that is. I love that you found it and had so much fun pondering what situation might have inspired it.

  13. What a fun article and commentary by you!

    • magicalmysticalteacher

      I did have fun with this one! I actually saw the photo that was depicted in the story. It was quite an experience.

      On Sun, Sep 10, 2017 at 12:34 PM, Magical Mystical Teacher wrote:

      >

  14. Old photos are interesting. I think nowadays we are more natural in the pictures, except for the colourful women magazines 😉

Please Leave a Reply

