Wilderness Waltz

Creosote bush

Creosote bush at twilight, Sonoran Desert, Southern Arizona
 

creosote blossom
swaying with the fading light—
wilderness waltz

 
Text and photo © 2011 by Magical Mystical Teacher
 
More September Heights: “Waltz”
 
More Ein Stück Himmel
 
More SkyWatch Friday
 
More Himmelsk

Posted on September 27, 2012, in Arizona, haiku, Haiku Heights, Himmelsk, September Heights, Sky Watch Friday, Sonoran Desert, Southern Arizona. Bookmark the permalink. 29 Comments.

  1. Very beautiful photo!Thank you for sharing!

  2. Very pretty haiku. Your poetry really illustrates how much beauty there is in the desert.

  3. Swaying with the fading light … awesome line … such a waltzing imagery.

  4. Beautiful!! Boom & Gary of the Vermilon River, Canada.

  5. Beautiful poem, and I have seen a lot of creosote bushes but apparently at the wrong season — didn’t know they had such a beautiful flower.

  6. Wonderful link to the prompt, and much more. Thoroughly enjoyed this.

  7. Lovely. I didn’t know there was a creosote flower – I thought creosote came from tar!

  8. Your poems and photos are so instructive to one who is a stranger to the desert! And your haiku takes that stranger to new “heights.” Thank you.

  9. “wilderness waltz” I love that. Very nicely done.

  10. Even the Pucker bush is pretty in the Autumn!

  11. Creosote comes from a bush??! And it blooms! Amazing the things you learn!! I guess I never thought about how it was applied to the wood…

    • magicalmysticalteacher

      No, the kind of creosote that’s used to treat wood comes from petroleum. I really don’t know why this marvelous desert plant is called creosote bush. The flowers are exceedingly fragrant.

  12. A beautiful revelation and image, MMT

    Hank

  13. Captured so beautifully!! Have a fun weekend.

    My Sky Shots

  14. Another excellent haiku matching a beautiful image of the desert.
    Thanks for teaching me a desert has such treasures.
    🙂

  15. Wilderness waltz – that’s charming. I like the use of ‘creosote.’

  16. Beutiful, can feel th Sonoran desert talking to me.

  17. beautiful! I love the image of a wilderness waltz!

  18. fine capture of a wilderness waltz . . . I get the rhythm and the love.
    Mine ends with “and” because it doesn’t end

  19. A great post, – lovely photos!

  20. What a beautiful post!

  21. Beautiful shot! Happy sky watching.

    Skywatch

  22. beautiful yellow in front of your heaven 🙂 thanks for joining us!