SkyWatch Friday: Becalmed


 

 

grey sky, grey water—
not even a gull sweeping
over the harbour

 
© 2010 by Magical Mystical Teacher
 
Photo taken at Comox Harbour, Comox, British Columbia.
 
For more SkyWatch photos, click here.

Posted on January 8, 2010, in my digital photos, my haiku, Sky Watch Friday, Vancouver Island. Bookmark the permalink. 22 Comments.

  1. Thanks a lot for your lovely rime on my page 😀

    I like the boatpicture.

    • magicalmysticalteacher

      I was disappointed because the day was so grey, but the photo turned out just fine, didn’t it? I’m glad you like it too!

  2. I love the reflections – it is a very tranquil scene – nice shot!
    thanks for visitng me earlier today – your words made me smile!
    Gena

    • magicalmysticalteacher

      It is a tranquil scene, isn’t it? There’s something about grey days that soothes the soul. Thank you for stopping by.

  3. I agree everything around is calm…happy weekend!

    SkyWatchFriday:Sunset

    • magicalmysticalteacher

      We can probably all use a little more calmness in our lives. This scene helps me to find that calm center deep within me. I’m glad you like it as well. Thank you for your visit.

  4. Pearly grey – calm and soft. Nice shot (and poem)

    Three Rivers Daily Photo

    • magicalmysticalteacher

      The entire week I was on Vancouver Island, I saw the sun exactly one day. The rest of the time it was gloomy and overcast–or “pearly grey,” to use your phrase. I feared for the quality of the photos, but I shouldn’t have. Those grey days lend an aura of mystery, and even calmness, to the scenes I photographed.

      Thank you so much for your visit. Do come back again sometime!

  5. Lovely, peaceful shot and I do love the reflections in the water! Hope you have a lovely weekend! Enjoy!

    Sylvia

    • magicalmysticalteacher

      Sylvia, the reflections really help to establish this scene as something worthy of attention, don’t they? I’m glad you like them too! I always appreciate your visits and your encouraging words. Thank you!

  6. Lovely haiku for a beautiful photo … love the reflections under your grey skies.
    Hugs and blessings,

  7. Soft and muted scene-
    Quiet boats sleeping calm
    On water like glass.

  8. The calm waters reflect the shadows of the boat mast as the stand like sentinels. Lovely scene.

    • magicalmysticalteacher

      “sentinels”–what a fine choice of words, Pam! They do look like they’re on guard duty, don’t they? Thanks for coming by to point that out! (Maybe those masts are really fixed bayonets!)

  9. indeed, a calm and serene photo! wonderful!

  10. What a peaceful looking scene in spite of the gray day! I love your haikus…always so descriptive. Thanks for visiting my ornamental sky and writing such a sweet haiku!

    • magicalmysticalteacher

      Linnea, thank you for stopping by. As far as the grey sky goes…I was really disappointed the day I took the photo. “Couldn’t we have just an hour’s worth of sun?” I thought. But when I saw how mysterious the photo looked, I was glad for the grey! And you are welcome for the haiku. I enjoyed writing it!

Please Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.