Haiku Bones: Sleep


 

Beyond woodland bend
elder’s journey comes to end—
ah, to sleep, to sleep!

 
© 2010 by Magical Mystical Teacher
 
Photo of mural taken in Chemainus, British Columbia.
 
For more haiku with the theme “Sleep,” click here.

 

Posted on February 28, 2010, in Haiku Bones, my digital photos, my haiku, Vancouver Island. Bookmark the permalink. 20 Comments.

  1. Wow! this is cool.

  2. Beautiful. There are many shades of depth in the photo and in the words.

    • magicalmysticalteacher

      That’s what I like about haiku, Tumblewords: In a handful of words, there are height and depth and breadth–when the words are chosen with care, of course! 🙂

  3. This I like, MMT. Problem is that that end for me is coming faster than I wish it would. 🙂
    I love your picture, it fits perfectly a ditty I am working on for OSI although I do have a snap that will do.
    ..

    • magicalmysticalteacher

      Do any of us really want the end to come, Jim? I know I don’t! Ah, mortality! For all of us the end comes faster than we would wish!

  4. It all works; the picture, the words, even the rhyme.

  5. real nice!
    great digital image..

  6. Very fabulous!
    Gia

  7. Immediately your haiku seemed like a part of Shakespeare’s “To be or not to be…” when it continues into thoughts on sleep…”perchance to dream, aye there’s the rub…” I think too of Lady Macbeth wandering around wanting the elusive balm of sleep to ease her guilt. Good one!

  8. Well said. The thought of just rounding the bend to eternity. A well earned rest. Nice work.

    Melanie

  9. So beautiful. If only we could all pass this way.

  10. the painting reminds me of van Gogh impressionism…or maybe monet who has a softer stroke…either way the photo complements yr ku…i love that as we walk close to the end it is a heavenly feeling

  11. It’s such a lovely, sad haiku. Even the stance of the figure in the image talks to me.

  12. lovely:)…

Please Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.