Shadow Shot Sunday: Dry Places


 

Stone, from you I seek
the wisdom of dry places—
as I listen, speak.

 
© 2010 by Magical Mystical Teacher
 
For more Shadow Shots, click here.

Posted on May 22, 2010, in Arizona, my digital photos, my senryu, Shadow Shot Sunday. Bookmark the permalink. 21 Comments.

  1. Good Shadow Shot of this craggy, old rock. Okay, so what did it say?

  2. I have never been to a desert. It looks really hot and dry, but the shadows are nice 🙂 Great shot!

  3. Parts of the desert are beautiful. But I do not think I could enjoy being there. Lovely shadows.

  4. Great shot and lovely words as always! There is so much beauty in the desert! Hope you have a wonderful weekend!

    Sylvia

  5. Beautiful poetry, as always. But the dry places are not for me.
    😉

  6. The rock has that unfinished look of so much in the desert. It survives as unlike the cacti, it needs no water and thus sits on the ground in its contemplative pose…

  7. I like this because you can put your own scale on it – is it a large rock, or a close up of a little one ……..

  8. Did it speak to you, MMT? I’ve never been to a desert. It looks beautiful.

    I’m sure there is wisdom to be found in them thar hills.

  9. Now that is a rock with character ! .. if you had to place a picture to illustrate hot and dry .. that one would fit perfectly !
    Great shot .. I need a glass of water now ! : )
    Joy

  10. You really can’t beat the colours of the desert and the skies are so blue. That stone looks very much like a meteor!

  11. Love the line – “the wisdom of dry places”. Beautiful! And a lovely craggy rock captured in the photo!

  12. I can imagine all kind of desert creatures behind that rock…

    Happy SSS from Casa,
    have a great week ahead!

    BLOGitsePHOTOS

  13. The rocks have been here through all time. They have seen everything that mankind has done and hold the wisdom. If we ask them, they will tell us and guide us with their lessons.
    Good shadow shot. A lot to see in that Arizona desert.

    Peace.

  14. It sure looks like a dry place, exciting that rocks can speak to you! 😉

  15. Rocky red desert is wonderful to look at.

    Happy SS

  16. There is beauty everywhere, one just needs to look at some thing differently than at others. Nice shot of this conical rock and its shadows.

  17. I like this haiku very much, you can feel the wisdom hidden in this ancient stone…if only it would share it’s knowledge and the places it’s been…secret power…

  18. I would think if one were walking in a hot desert they might need a place to sit and stop a while to contemplate their surroundings. I have never seen a desert. Thanks for your words left on my blog.
    Ann

  19. To me this rock somewhat resembles a giant skull, heaved up from the arid ground … sorry, that’s morbid. But it is a beautiful picture!

  20. Great image and beautiful words.

Please Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.