Shadow Shot Sunday: Derelict


 

Derelict dwelling—
shabby inhabitants skulk
in crumbling corners.

 
© 2010 by Magical Mystical Teacher
 
For more Shadow Shot Sunday photos, click here.

Posted on June 26, 2010, in Arizona, my digital photos, my senryu, Shadow Shot Sunday. Bookmark the permalink. 34 Comments.

  1. Cool shot–very evocative.

  2. There’s something very sad about an abandoned building but I think some of the creatures might be glad of the shelter and shade.

  3. Great shadow shot and words to match as always. It does look sad, but I guess all abandoned places look sad, as though their usefulness has ceased to be. Have a lovely weekend!

    Sylvia

  4. The shadows are a reminder of a frame dwelling that was built for shadow, and built to last (if one maintains the roof that is…The shadowy frame looks as if it too is a skeleton in the desert…

  5. and yet the soul looks out at the neglected landscape . . .

  6. great shot – love that optimism through the window out of the shadowy dereliction…

  7. It may be derelict but the view is still great! 🙂

  8. A very descriptive senryu to complement an atmospheric photo!

  9. Yikes, I quake to think who those shabby inhabitants might be!! Thougtful Shadow Shot.

  10. MMT .. rather close to my atmosphere of a Halloween type impromptu post .. those skulking characters long gone yet hidden in the shadows of this skeleton abode ? wink wink
    joy

  11. I feel there is a vast landscape just to the left. I want to peep round and see it from the shadows.

  12. What a great shot.

  13. Awesome shot, what an amazing place

  14. I love the shadows in your shot, and the framed serene scene you captured!

  15. Wonderful. Looks like this could be in Bodie, CA

  16. there is something so beautiful about weathered wood

  17. Very nice, has sort of a melancholy feel to it…

  18. Beautiful shot with good feeling…
    Sunny SSS greetings from Casablanca, Morocco!

    BLOGitsePHOTOS

  19. I can almost smell the dry breath of this old relic, what is it about these decrepit buildings the draw in our imagination…you’re talkin’ my language now…love the old shacks…have a wonderful Sunday…we’re having more thunderstorms rollin in…ENOUGH ALREADY!!!

  20. Great shot – we sure don’t have those types of views here in
    SW FL -just lovely. Thanks for sharing my 100 cupcakes 🙂

  21. nice capture, several shadows and textures going on here…from the outside bush to the “sky light”. lovely as always.

  22. Brrr creepy…. wouldn’t dare to go in! Nice view through that door…. and great shot!

  23. Look through the window
    At what lays out and beyond
    Adventures await!

  24. Old but not forgotten.
    To forget what was
    Would be rotten.

    MMT, I try. What can I say?

    Thanks for stopping by. See you in the shadows. 😉

  25. At the end of the
    Road to nowhere we find a
    Door to mystery.

    Cheers!
    JzB

  26. Beautiful negative/positive shot.

  27. Here in NYC
    There’s no such architecture.
    It’s something we lack.

    What can I say—I try too. Nice shot!

  28. A very desolate shot! Great photo – and poem!

  29. Very thoughtful and artistic.

  30. I like the view from this place.

  31. Derelict? Still love your shot due to a vintag-y looks.

    x0x0

  32. weekdayphotos

    Great Sunday Shot photo!
    Check out my photo here!

    Also its a new week which means new challenges at http://www.weekdayphotos.com, my very own photo challenge 🙂

    The themes are as usual:

    Monday – Creative Colors
    Tuesday – Macro
    Wednesday – 2 of a kind
    Thursday – Urban
    Friday – Sunset

    Have a good one!

Please Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.