Haiku Wednesday: Accidents


 

Accidents happen,
veiled as crimson leaves or stones—
I walk in beauty.

 
© 2010 by Magical Mystical Teacher
 
More Sensational Haiku Wednesday with the theme “Accidents,” click here.

Posted on November 17, 2010, in my digital photos, my haiku, Sensational Haiku Wednesday. Bookmark the permalink. 14 Comments.

  1. accident or not, that pic is a real beauty made more beautiful by the smooth flow of your haiku. 🙂

    Sensational Haiku Wednesday

  2. I love it, MMT! This was a wonderful find well worth a nice poem. Your picture matches the words so well. For posterity if you keep it for the kids. Next stanza:

    north wind is blowing
    where will pretty leaf go next
    pressed—mounted—my shelf
    ..

  3. I really liked this one… so many people walk in beauty and never notice…..

  4. Beautiful photo, thought and haiku

  5. I love fall leaves!! I hope they aren’t an accident!

  6. An accident, chance
    Happening, opens the door
    To a better life.

    Cheers!
    JzB

  7. A wonderful accident, I think.

    Paz 😉

  8. Yes! But are they really accidents at all or lessons to be learned in order to find beauty and deeper substance to life?

  9. “I walk in beauty.” LOVE that… you’re so right.

  10. That was an extremely good haiku and an inspired Jim’s rejoinder to it was so perfect!! Beautiful picture and a great colored imagery created here!! This is for posterity!!

    • magicalmysticalteacher

      Thank you for your kind words, Nanka and Jenn, although I’m of the opinion that this haiku isn’t really as good as your enthusiastic comments might lead others to believe. For one thing, I have a very hard time “writing to the prompt.” (To be honest, I don’t even LIKE prompts. I find them often to be an exercise in artificiality, not to mention futility.) I played with “accidents” for several hours and wrote several pages (yes, pages) of haiku before I finally settled on this one to publish. Even as I pushed the “publish” button, I said aloud, “This will have to do.” I wasn’t satisfied with the haiku then, and I’m not satisfied now–but it’ll have to do! I have other things to write and I need to move on and not allow myself to be held captive by 17 syllables!

      A fellow companion on the haiku journey, MMT

      • MMT, must say here that beauty lies in the eyes of the beholder. I personally loved the varied colors in the pebbles and the bright red on it. This could be a real beauty to find while walking.

      • Without prompts I fear I would lose people who may need some coaxing 🙂

        I find that it “stretches” us mentally at times, don’t you? It may take us out of our comfort zone, but it can also take us in directions we wouldn’t have otherwise.

        For me (as a singer) it’s like singing music we would never have chose for ourselves, but appreciating the nuances when it comes together, despite our initial misgivings. We’ve been expanded!

        If this is what you come up with when you’re having trouble… you’re not having trouble at all, my friend. 🙂

Please Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.