Roots


 

Roots, you cling
as if by command
to these cliffs.

 
** ** ** **
 
roots clinging
as if by command
to seacliffs

 
© 2011 by Magical Mystical Teacher
 
Photo: Point Loma Nazarene University, San Diego, California
 
More Haiku My Heart at Recuerda Mi Corazon here
 
More Sensational Haiku Wednesday with the theme “Roots” here
 
More Haiku Heights with the theme “Command” here
 
More Watery Wednesday photos here

Posted on March 23, 2011, in Haiku My Heart, my digital photos, my haiku, Point Loma, Sensational Haiku Wednesday, Southern California, Watery Wednesday. Bookmark the permalink. 14 Comments.

  1. Oh how relaxing that sight is.

    Come see my watery Wednesday, have a lovely day!

  2. i’ve often marvelled at the plants on the side of cliffs!

  3. Mother Earth is so wise. The roots cling to the cliffs preventing erosion..I marvel at Mother Earth’s wisdom.
    I see such roots clinging in the mountains in the Sonoran desert terrain.Loved your Haiku.

  4. Nature is amazing how it clings, and how it commands. Very nice.

  5. Hi MMT … I clicked to enlarge and found those roots amazing. Thanks for sharing this WW post, and thanks for visiting!

  6. The roots do indeed look as if they have been placed there by command. Thanks for a fascinating picture.

  7. Such amazing strength in roots… nice!

  8. There is a reason they stay attached even when it seems the extremes of rock, soil and roots might not mix. Your explanation, that they are commanded to do so, might be the simplest way of saying it.

    Peace.

  9. Good one.. cliffs command, roots cling.. what an imagery.. always a delight to come here..and read you..

  10. I like the first haiku better than the second. I think it’s because you’re talking directly to them, letting them know something obvious to us, but perhaps not to them.

    • magicalmysticalteacher

      I agree with you. I like the first haiku better too. I couldn’t quite say why, but I think you’ve put the words in my mouth. Thank you!

  11. blue sky, sand and sea a most nourishing meal to feed upon…

  12. Roots are very tenacious–it does seem they hold fast by command. I like “seacliffs” because the roots are being drawn down to the sea. Hearts can get a choke hold on others’ spirits, as if by command… A lot of levels to your haiku, and the photo is so expressive.

  13. i am home.
    wishing the art of catching up were as simple and brief as your perfect haiku!
    thanks for your place on the cliffs of my heart.

Please Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.