Shadowlands


 

Desert shadowlands—
shackled by ten thousand thorns,
ocotillo blooms.

 
© 2011 by Magical Mystical Teacher
 
Photo: Ocotillo (Fouquieria splendens) Anza-Borrego Desert State Park, Southern California
 
More Sensational Haiku Wednesday with the theme “Shadow” here
 
More One Single Impression poems with the theme “Shackles” here
 
More Ruby Tuesday photos here
 
More REDnesday photos here

Posted on April 20, 2011, in Anza-Borrego Desert, my digital photos, my haiku, One Single Impression, REDnesday, Ruby Tuesday, Sensational Haiku Wednesday, Southern California. Bookmark the permalink. 13 Comments.

  1. I love ocotillio, for the splash of color and for the fact that they seem so brave to bloom out of pretty much nothing!

  2. nice photo, visiting you back.

  3. I love ocotillo in bloom.

  4. I love your post. Short, simple and to the point. Just one lovely, lonely red flower is perfect.

  5. I love ocotilla, Mary. Their remains make terrific fences. Have you ever seen an ocotilla fence?

    Anza-Borrego Desert State Park looms large in my early years. I used to camp there a lot. Then I did some archeological work there for a couple of years. I came face to face with my first rattle snake and my first turantula there. My senior thesis was set in that park. It’s one of my favorite desert place.

  6. I like your shot..Happy Rednesday.

  7. MagicalMysticalTeacher: I love learning new things every day and I will honestly admit that I had to use the online dictionary to define ocotillo. Glad the rainy season brings such beauty as does your writing. Precious picture and admirable take on “shadow”. The descriptive way you write inspires me to further my own skills. All the best to you!

  8. You are on a roll! 🙂

  9. This is a beautiful photo.

  10. really enjoyed this one

  11. Care or not
    True love blossoms.
    Isn’t it?

    Beautiful picture and words.

Please Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.