Behind

Photobucket
 

Behind the windows
someone peers out with yearning—
her room is too small.

 
 
Text and photo © 2011 by Magical Mystical Teacher
 
Photo: A house in Zacatecas, México
 
More The Height of Haiku Challenge, Day 9 with the theme “Yearn” here
 
More The Thursday Think Tank #65 with the theme “Windows” here
 
More Haiku My Heart at Recuerda Mi Corazon here
 
More Monday Poetry Train Revisited #136 here
 

Posted on September 9, 2011, in Haiku My Heart, Mexico, my digital photos, my senryu, senryu, The Height of Haiku Challenge, The Thursday Think Tank, Zacatecas. Bookmark the permalink. 21 Comments.

  1. From what seems a plain opening comment the haiku rurns into one with layers of meaning! Creative!

  2. Lovely! That would have been my daughter… Thanks for making me smile! 🙂

  3. This made me think of an abused child. Incredibly sad.

  4. Might be a small room, but a beautiful gated entry. Hope all is good your way.

    Peace

  5. A great haiku.
    Lots of avenues for the imagination to wander down.

  6. I agree with Gemma. This could turn in so many different directions. I choose a hopeful path.

  7. good one, short, but inspires thought

  8. i love the emotion of this.
    the pink is one more perfect layer to your richly textured haiku.
    the idea that her yearning cannot be contained, touchingly profound.

  9. I love the wonderment of it all! Most of us have the need to break out sometimes, no? Lovely!

  10. If it is filled with joy does it really matter??
    The gate looks a bit caged and restricts freedom though a neat place!!

  11. oh, what a wonderful job you’ve done creating a richly layered story with just a few phrases…

  12. Her room is too small – I find this to be a powerful metaphor. Lovely.

  13. to look beyond the window and find a girl in the room.. a wonderful story of yearning, this one.

  14. great write….It can be interpreted many ways…for me it says she wishes to leave the confines of her tiny room to venture out into the world

  15. Loaded with multiple meanings!

    Well written!!

  16. I too like this. I bet most of us think our rooms are too small when we’re younger and long to pass through that gate.

  17. looks like a prisoner in the house, with all the bars. (but i like to think it’s for security reasons). lovely haiku and a great picture to accompany it. definitely something to ponder about. 🙂

  18. The sweet colour and pretty design of the gate makes it all non-sinister. I choose to read ‘whimsical’ as the tone, little girl waiting to be part of the big world outside…a world of wonder, no less!
    Rosie@mygardenhaven

  19. Oh wow, what a great photo and that colour is fascinating… I can almost see the person behind the window, love your haiku!

Please Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.