Dust

Photobucket
 

lush fragrant seasons
lost to desiccating winds—
only dust remains

 
 
Text and photo © 2011 by Magical Mystical Teacher
 
Photo: Northern Arizona
 
More The Height of Haiku Challenge, Day 24 with the theme “Lost” here
 
More Haiku My Heart at Recuerda Mi Corazon here
 
More Straight Out of the Camera shots here
 
More Shadow Shot Sunday photos here

Posted on September 24, 2011, in Arizona, haiku, Haiku My Heart, my digital photos, my haiku, Northern Arizona, Straight Out of the Camera Sunday, The Height of Haiku Challenge. Bookmark the permalink. 36 Comments.

  1. A loss indeed… another great match of words and picture.

  2. Reminds me of my skin in winter without the moisturizing lotions!! 🙂
    Lovely words and reality well put in words and photograph!!

  3. I must commend you for the lovely pictures you post along with your poems.

    And this is nice…nature always reminds us of this .. everything turns to dust.

  4. This reminds of a Poem by Sir Walter Scott:
    The wretch, concentred all in self,
    Living, shall forfeit fair renown,
    And, doubly dying, shall go down
    To the vile dust from whence he sprung,
    Unwept, unhonor’d, and unsung.

  5. Another “home run”!!! The haiku is outstanding and the photo is very dramatic. That is what our soil has looked like for most of the summer, but finally we were blessed with a little rain. Mickie 🙂

  6. …dust in the wind-all we are is dust in the wind.

  7. the dappled shadows are beautiful but I want to send rain and green

  8. The land is arid, the cracks in the soil so pronounced. Yet, a hint of life is shown by the cooling shadows, the temps down a few. A place of extremes it seems, the beauty untraditional…

  9. “how dry i am…” and yet green color dots the grounds. nice shot mmt.

  10. I very much like the picture you’ve chosen to go with that great haiku. Dust remains, my favorite line – as we all shall turn to dust.

  11. That is DRY! What a great capture and shadows for the day! Always love your words! Enjoy your weekend!

    Sylvia

  12. A fabulous haiku for a desert scene.

    My Link: Backyard Shadow

    Have a terrific weekend.

  13. Your Haiku works so well with your photo, MMT. Such a desolate scene. Happily there are bits of green in it.

    Dust to dust…

  14. What a fine ShadowShot. The cracking ground reminds me of an old person’s face—one who has worked hard out in the elements all his life. Happy SSS to you!

  15. MMT,
    Great picture image, very relevant to the haiku

    Hank

  16. Such a neat shadow shot…love all your poems, too.

    I have a younger grandgirl that I am thinking of giving the Moses basket to for all her dolls..I think she would just love it. :))
    Hope you have a fabulous weekend.
    xoxo bj

  17. What an amazing picture. I’ve never seen soil that dry, but how beautiful the little pockets of green shrubs growing against the odds

  18. powerful image and words…unfortunately Texas, the state I live in, has too much of its landscape looking like your photo

  19. what a gorgeous desert landscape – great texture in this shot…

  20. Beautifil photo and poem. I like the shadows across teh ground but I also like how the cracks and crevices cast shadows of their own too.

  21. Dust indeed. Great shot n poem

  22. There is still something to be find in dried up things. A perfect showing for today.

  23. Amazing shot of the cracked earth. Very desolate.

  24. Love the arid look of the ground, with the shadows and that little bit of green showing up, and the verse is a perfect match.

  25. Beautiful!

    My shadow post,your comment will be highly appreciated.

  26. The Texture, shadows and Heat can be felt!!!

    Awesome!

    John

  27. Excellent and very nice photography.

    Regards and best wishes

  28. Great shadows and the ground has a wonderful texture.

  29. Ashes to ashes, dust to dust. Is there a connection here? Wonderful use of words overall, especially with this photo. I’m back in Wisco for the time being. Be back SW in a month. See you then.

    Peace

  30. I love the patterns of the cracks in the rocks combined with shadows.

  31. Interesting how the scrub brush has found life in the midst of the drought.

  32. Fantastic shadow shot.

  33. Love your shadows. Great shot.

  34. Hi MMT … wow. Wonderful shadows! Thanks for stopping by to see me, and I hope that you are having a great week.

    Kathy M.

  35. Such strong textures, and another great poem.

Please Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.