Coral Lipstick

Wordle 30
 
 
If ever a finger were eloquent,
it was Mrs. Hill’s, aimed in a motionless point
at some offending student.
She possessed a strength that needed no words,
although she usually added a few for good measure:
“Clean up your act,” she’d hiss,
“or you’ll be cleaning the board after school.”
Then in perfect balance she’d swivel on one high heel
and turn her back to the offender,
certain that her words—and finger—
had hit their mark.
 
At recess we retreated rapidly
to the playground,
buzzing like ten thousand angry bees
whose safety had been threatened.
 
“Weren’t you scared when Mrs. Hill
pointed her finger at you?” Christian asked.
 
“Nah,” I said with false bravado. “Nothing
about her scares me.”
 
Yet even decades later, the coral lipstick
she smeared on her thin, cruel lips
haunts me in my dreams.

 
© 2011 by Magical Mystical Teacher
 

More The Sunday Whirl, Wordle 30 poems and prose here
 
More The Poetry Pantry #75 poems here
 
More Poetry Picnic Week 13 poems here

Posted on November 15, 2011, in Poetry Picnic, The Poetry Pantry, The Sunday Whirl. Bookmark the permalink. 22 Comments.

  1. Love your poetry and appreciate your visits.

  2. Wonderful writing. Your poem reminded me of a teacher I had who was very like Mrs. Hill! I was terrified of her! Well done!

  3. Sad that we’ve all had mean teachers like this! It’s a terrific poem, and you worked those words in seamlessly.

  4. Coming from a family of teachers, I love this. I’ve known a few who were just as haunting.

  5. Love this…great post.
    Peace,
    Siggi in Downeast Maine

  6. some teachers are unforgettable-deeply touching poem leaves a lasting impression-well written

  7. Love it – I can picture her clearly

  8. superb writing esp the dailogue i enjoyed…

  9. I remember her, but she had a different name at my school! Very nice write!

    http://charleslmashburn.wordpress.com/2011/11/16/like-a-pearl-set-in-gold/

  10. Coral lipstick on thin, cruel lips is a fantastic image! Very cool.

  11. She sounds like a real witch to me. The kind always seen and felt in nightmares. I will never feel the same about coral lipstick now 😉

  12. Wicked memory! We have all had that one teacher who scared us!

  13. ooh, i have been at the receiving end of a flying piece of chalk (and then a pointed finger) when i dozed off in class…:)

    great write (coral lipstick on thin, cruel lips is a very vivid image).

  14. I enjoyed reading this, and I hope I was never regarded as a Mrs Hill! Suffered through a few encounters, though. Good one, MMT.
    Rosie

  15. I have memories of such a teacher from my schooldays Magical Mystical Teacher!! This brought back haunting memories!! LOL!! Well written!! Like the expression about the buzzing angry bees!! 🙂

    My R post is here.

  16. That was nice, particularly the ending 🙂 well done!! Thanks for the visit!

  17. Love the narrative effect you create and enrich with the details…especially that coral lipstick. Things like that stick in our memories.

  18. I loved this! It felt like story in its unfolding, but it hit me and stayed with me like great poetry does–

  19. What an intense story.The scars of the past and their stamp on the present are subtly written.Excellent read.

  20. Greetings:

    Hope that you have had a great Merry Christmas.

    Thanks for the delightful support along the way,

    Happy New Year.

    Share a piece of your poetry today at our poetry party today if you could.,

    Have fun!

    Sending you love and blessings.
    Cheers.

    xoxox

Please Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.