Honey for My Soul

Globe Mallow

 
Does it matter that I know where the first globemallows will bloom along the wash each April?
 
Not to the globemallows. Their rose-orange blossoms will open whether I seek them out or not. When their appointed hour comes, nothing, neither my presence nor my absence, will keep the furled flowers from responding to the urgent summons programmed within each cell.
 
The blooming does not matter to those who mistakenly think that “mallows” means a mound of tempting confections lying on a plate, waiting to be savoured.
 
And the blooming certainly does not matter to those who fear the wilderness and its wanton ways.
 
But to me it matters, and to the spirits of this wasted place, because we have a common purpose: to celebrate each fleeting wonder rising like a tiny phoenix from dust and desolation.
 

sheltered from the storm
elusive little blossoms
honey for my soul

 
Text and photo © 2012 by Magical Mystical Teacher
 
Photo: Globemallow (Sphaeralcea ambigua), Northern Arizona
 
More Postcards from Paradise at Recuerda Mi Corazon
 
More The April Heights: “Poet’s Choice”
 
More Straight Out of the Camera Sunday
 
More We Write Poems: NaPoWriMo #29
 
More One Single Impression: “Elusive”
 
More Sunday Scribblings: “Storm”
 
More Mellow Yellow Monday
 
More Shadow Shot Sunday 2
 
More Floral Friday Fotos
 
More I Heart Macro
 
More Macro Monday

Posted on April 29, 2012, in Arizona, Floral Friday Fotos, haibun, haiku, Haiku Heights, I Heart Macro, Macro Monday, Mellow Yellow Monday, NaPoWriMo, Northern Arizona, One Single Impression, Postcards from Paradise, Shadow Shot Sunday 2, Straight Out of the Camera Sunday, Sunday Scribblings, The April Heights 2012, We Write Poems. Bookmark the permalink. 39 Comments.

  1. Heartwarming. I like it a lot.

  2. So glad to be able to share your ‘soul honey’, haiku, other words and picture are beautiful. x

  3. Honey indeed! what lovely words and a gorgeous image. 🙂

  4. Such a delicate bloom! Have a wonderful weekend.

  5. brief, and very nicely developed… and yes to the final purpose

  6. This is beautiful,both Haiku and image.

  7. “We have a common purpose: to celebrate each fleeting wonder rising like a tiny phoenix from dust and desolation.”

    Wow! That says it. . .

  8. We have a common purpose: to celebrate each fleeting wonder rising like a tiny phoenix from dust and desolation.

    Wow- that says it all. . .

  9. Sweet as the other kind of mallow! Loved it 😀

  10. This is one of those plants I wish I could have here in VA. We are so limited because of the cold and snowy winters. This one is so delicate and pretty. Love the color. genie

  11. What a delight to discover this stunning bloom in the wild.

  12. What a great color those blossoms are!! I love the orange!

  13. I was tempted in by the lovely mallow then didn’t want to leave.

  14. Lovely words and awesome photos ~ thanks, namaste, ^_^

  15. love. so sweet- honey for my soul – as sweet words and flowers are.

  16. And most of it is dust and desolation …the little orange flowers keep us all trundling along..Your photos are lovely .

  17. honey for all souls who seek the flame of life
    even in desolation.
    thank you for sharing your paradise.

  18. beautiful picture and lovely imagery – great haiku – I particularly like the last two lines

  19. Lovely post. The dusty orange colour of the flowers is wonderful.
    Thank you for particiapting in Floral Friday fotos!

  20. I always seek honey for my soul, and there is no better place to find it than in the wilderness. A beautiful photo and haiku to match!

  21. Never knew about these flowers. They grow in arizona they must grow in my hot climate as well. Great photos.

  22. elusive little blossoms
    Wow! I love that!

  23. i love the text…we all need honey to our souls. a beautiful flower—God’s way to please us.

  24. Lovely! I bet they’re edible, I think that’s where the name marshmallow comes from…

  25. Honey for my soul – love that thought.

  26. Lovely haibun. And thank you for introducing me to globemallows. They’re beautiful. And such a delightful word in the mouth too.

    Richard

  27. Such pretty little wildflowers!

  28. What a beautiful bloom. Have a fabulous week.

    Liz @ MLC
    Liz @ YACB

  29. Nice and near to heart….

  30. Seems to have been captured on a fine day. Wonderful light and colours!

  31. Lovely photo and wonderful haiku.

  32. This is a great photo — and Haiku to accompany it!! 😀

  33. Beautiful image and haiku. Such a stunning and wonderful combination.

  34. a heartfelt invitation so beautifully put – thank you.

  35. I like your haiku, MMT. 🙂 More so yet after I Googled ‘globemallows’ We don’t have them here along the Texas Gulf Coast, even 100 miles inland where we live.
    ..

  36. inspiring ! this is just full of hope. ah, spring!

  37. Does it matter that I know where the first globemallows will bloom along the wash each April?

    Not to the globemallows. Their rose-orange blossoms will open whether I seek them out or not. When their appointed hour comes, nothing, neither my presence nor my absence, will keep the furled flowers from responding to the urgent summons programmed within each cell.

    Love every word of this! Really makes one think…thank you for sharing the honey!! Beautiful!

  38. just beautifully crafted words and thoughts!

Please Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.