With My Eyes Obscured

Art, Fabrica la Aurora
 
Painting at Fábrica La Aurora San Miguel de Allende, Guanajuato, México
 


With my eyes obscured,
how can I see clearly now?
Blackbird calls my name.

 
Text and photo © 2012 by Magical Mystical Teacher
 
More Carry On Tuesday: “I Can See Clearly Now”
 
More Straight Out of the Camera Sunday
 
More Mellow Yellow Monday
 
More Ruby Tuesday 2
 
More REDnesday

Posted on June 12, 2012, in Carry on Tuesday, Fábrica La Aurora, Guanajuato, Mellow Yellow Monday, Mexico, REDnesday, Ruby Tuesday 2, San Miguel de Allende, senryu. Bookmark the permalink. 18 Comments.

  1. I love this one! Happy RT2.

    Mine’s here.

  2. don’t really get the ‘blackbird’ reference, but maybe I am being obtuse….the artwork is tres cool, and I enjoyed the prose

    • magicalmysticalteacher

      I’m not sure that there’s anything to “get”! Just let the words wash over you. As Archibald MacLeish wrote in “Ars Poetica”:

      A poem should not mean
      But be

  3. never seen the painting before…kind of cool…have no idea what the bottle caps might mean…maybe they represent a blindfold and the blackbirds are waiting for dinner…I’m not sure that it really matters…true art…good art…makes us think…this one makes me think as does your words

  4. Bottle caps protecting the contents it seems. And we cannot see well when we are being defensive. And so it goes. . .Sadness here and a little humor. Thanks.

  5. Oh, so dark!! I love that! The blackbird got his eyes and are calling his name!! I love what you say without saying. Perfection! Smiles to you Mystical!!

  6. Now that one is gruesome to me. No beauty here.

  7. Ah, there are many things in this world that can block our vision of what life is really all about 🙂 Your blog post today has just reminded me that. Thanks 🙂 Thanks also for checking out my blog.

  8. Maybe he just doesn’t see clearly. The title and artwork go together well. Great post!

  9. Brings to mind this song, which I hadn’t thought about in decades.

    Make fast the guns tonight we sail
    When the high tide floods the bay
    Cut free the lines and square the yards
    Get the black flag stowed away.
    The Turk the Arab and the Spaniard
    Will soon have pennies on their eyes
    And any other laden fancy
    We will take her by surprise

    Cheers!
    JzB

    P.S. I corrected my link at MYM

  10. Whoa – had no idea the vid would imbed.

    JzB

  11. I like it. Looks very mysterious…Christine

  12. Gracias por tu excelente haiku.

  13. Very interesting photo. Have a fabulous week.

    Liz @ MLC
    Liz @ YACB

  14. lindyloumacinitaly

    This painting is quite disturbing.

    • magicalmysticalteacher

      I agree, but I couldn’t resist taking a photo of it. I often wonder why artists create violent images, but it is the artists’ responsibility to share their vision of the world, be it good or evil.

  15. This is very interesting. Thank you for sharing.

Please Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.