Strawhead

National Botanic Gardens
Scarecrow in the organic garden, National Botanic Gardens, Dublin, Ireland
 


Sometimes a strawhead
presides over paradise,
scaring crows to death.

 
Text and photo © 2013 by Magical Mystical Teacher
 
More Blue Monday
 
More Ruby Tuesday 2
 
More Haiku Heights: “Death”
 
More Postcards from Paradise at Recuerda Mi Corazon

Posted on January 13, 2013, in Blue Monday, Dublin, haiku, Haiku Heights, Ireland, Postcards from Paradise, Recuerda Mi Corazon, Ruby Tuesday 2 and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 29 Comments.

  1. I love it. looks like a school kid scarecrow.

  2. Thanks for the touch of humor.

  3. careful magical
    mystical teacher beware
    i love crows, love crows!!!

  4. Ha! To the crows, that looks like a great place to perch!

  5. Love the image and the Haiku paired with it!!! Have you been traveling?

  6. Terrific blue post.

  7. this makes me smile. i was scared of scarecrows as a child.:p

  8. I think your scarecrow is a she. Happy Blue Monday!

  9. Nice photo!
    Happy Ruby Tuesday to you!

  10. Creepy guy! Not like the friendly scarecrow in the Wizard of Oz. 😉

    I also think your strawhead is a female.

    Fun Haiku!

  11. hmm…I called him a guy then said it was a female. Guess I need more coffee this a.m. Make that just “creepy!”

  12. really liking the haiku and the picture too

  13. The crows may ‘Caw’ with authority but cower in fright if challenged by a hay filled ‘person’ in the field. Not such a brave bird…looks almost real to me too!

  14. ooh, I love black earth, to have my hands in it when gardening
    I wonder where the idea of scarecrows originated? do you think they really scare off birds?

  15. Yes, very funny, but it does its job.

  16. I love it and I can’t wait until we need to use one again. It’s cold here!

    Happy Ruby Tuesday!:-)

  17. Well, I wish it were true….but I’ve seen birds LAND on the shoulders of the scarecrow…and I think their calling/songs is actually laughter at the whole concept. In either case, this is one awesome photo.

  18. He looks like he’s going to throw something. Cute man ;p

    Hazel @ Bedight

  19. A garden is never far from paradise!

  20. Beautifully shared… i love it…and it made me smile too. 🙂
    I’m writing my haiku heights on my blogspot blog.
    http://positivekismet.blogspot.com/2013/01/musings-trust.html
    Eliz

  21. Looks like a new sheriff’s in town 😀 Here’s mine.

  22. Oh, my gosh! THIS IS MY FAVORITE HAIKU and picture. I’m smiling, grinning and laughing (nice medicine for this bronchitis I’ve been battling)

Please Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.