Awhirl with Richard Wright

102 photo 102_zpseed0e9b1.jpg
 
 
The first line of each haiku or senryu is taken from Haiku: This Other World by Richard Wright.
 


~~ 1 ~~
Over steaming rice
she sprinkles magic powders—
tonight, her lover!
 
~~ 2 ~~
 
In the drizzling rain
she calls out to her lover—
three crows mark her tears.
 
~~ 3 ~~
 
Under yellow leaves
she finds the letter she lost,
sodden and unread.
 
~~ 4 ~~
 
On a wet tree trunk,
three words written long ago
tell of a lost love.
 
~~ 5 ~~
 
In a flower pot
she buries a smooth white stone,
hoping it will grow.
 
~~ 6 ~~
 
In the morning sun
a pilgrim stabs her oak staff
up the mountain trail.
 
~~ 7 ~~
 
Obscuring the moon,
an ominous mountain peak
blights the pilgrim’s path.
 
~~ 8 ~~
 
To change this cold wind
after the rose petals fall,
she will need magic.
 
~~ 9 ~~
 
Brighter than ever
the cathedral door locks glow
with unholy fire.
 
~~ 10 ~~
 
Two men are parting—
one of them walks toward a pit,
where strange angels dance.

 
© 2013 by Magical Mystical Teacher
 
 
More The Poetry Pantry #144
 
More The Sunday Whirl, Wordle 102
 
More Carpe Diem: “Inspired by Richard Wright”

Posted on March 31, 2013, in Carpe Diem, haiku, Richard Wright, senryu, The Poetry Pantry, The Sunday Whirl and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 28 Comments.

  1. I love how the crows mark her tears!

  2. I am in love with number 5!

  3. Great first half… I’ll be back for more…

  4. Lovely words, as always! I think my favorite is #5.

  5. #1 and #3 grabbed ahold of me

  6. The magic is sprinkled through every verse..

  7. These are even more fantastic and wonderful than usual. Wow! The pilgrim, the white stone, the words on a tree trunk. Number 9 is spectacular. As are the strange angels, dancing! A feast in here today!

  8. Richard, these are always a treat to read. And they are so well expressed/written. Thanks for these.

  9. #5 is my favourite

    Happy Easter

    much love…

  10. Her love turned to stone may well grow again with nurturing. All are poignantly beautiful.

  11. Well, that was interesting…still processing it 🙂

  12. I love your approach to this. 3, 4, 6, and 7 are my favorites.

  13. I really like 9 which is really medieval and makes me think of those later destroyed cathedrals

  14. My favorite is #4! Words carved in during a moment of sweet love! Sigh…

  15. That last one is powerful!

  16. This is so beautiful….Loved it…..

    I am here after SO long!! Sorry about that!!

    inside that bowl, I see the whole world

  17. Ooh, this is good. My favourite is #1, such optimism! and a good use of the word ‘powders’ which I found very hard. Love it.

  18. Really enjoyed this series!

  19. You told a beautiful and mystical story with these words. Great job!

  20. 2 and 5 are favorites, but I cannot believe this overall series. Just amazing!

  21. Beautiful haiku verses as always. Thank you for sharing the link to Richard Wright’s haiku. I studied his novels in literature classes, but I was not familiar with his poetry. So fascinating!

  22. Enjoyed this and your word cloud thoroughly. 😉
    Eliz

  23. There are several that I think could evolve into their own stories. I really enjoyed them all. I think you did feed your muse…

    Thanks for your visit.

  24. have to go with #5 and a question, what is the harvest from a buried stone?

    much love…

  25. What a sad story you tell through the sequence…

  26. The first five tell a beautifully sad story. They are all very good. have reread them several times. I think I like # 8 as a favorite -but then I’m partials to roses.

  27. So sad, MMT, and I was hit by each stanza…each one has a line that smacks me…very sad but written beautifully.

  28. So many powerful images, so casually delivered – I really enjoyed this post.

Please Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.