Harvest

White feather photo Whitefeather_zps68e8fb28.jpg
Lost feather, Sonoran Desert, Southern Arizona
 
 
morning shimmer
dew frosting on furze
a single leaf falls*


remnant of a hawk harvest
litters the wilderness path

*Haiku by Björn Rudberg
 
Final two lines and photo © 2013 by Magical Mystical Teacher
 
More Macro Monday 2
 
More Shadow Shot Sunday 2
 
More I Heart Macro at Shine the Divine
 
More Carpe Diem Tan Renga: “By the Garden Path”

Posted on November 2, 2013, in Arizona, Carpe Diem, I Heart Macro, Macro Monday 2, Shadow Shot Sunday 2, Shine the Divine, Sonoran Desert, Southern Arizona, tan renga and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 14 Comments.

  1. Lookit all the teeny tiny seeds scattered around the feather! I love finds like this.

  2. Beautiful shadows, though it’s sad to think it’s a “hawk harvest”.

    Thanks for the info on maple seeds, AKA “samaras”! I never knew that before.
    🙂

  3. Eeww. Well done, that got me

  4. I love the way you have put this–it’s like ranchers that sometimes call cattle crops or other such euphemisms to disguise the fact that they are animals who are slaughtered.

  5. Nice offering. I had to look up furze.

  6. Dear MMT … I might have not seen those tiny seeds for all the attention I paid to the feather and wonderings if it was truly meant as you said “hawk harvest” ? .. I still have no definition of furze .. came up as a yellow shrub of some sort ( perhaps this morning I am not quite on top of things ? haha) .. all in all … a rather sad yet hopeful scene .. sad for the lone feather .. hopeful for the seeds to take and bring more life through plants to the area .. a scenario of death yet life ?
    Joy

    • magicalmysticalteacher

      You’re right: “furze” is a bush; it grows mostly in Europe, I believe. I didn’t write the haiku, but only the last two lines, as part of Carpe Diem’s Tan Renga Challenge. (Poets add to each other’s work.) When I wrote “hawk harvest,” I was indeed thinking of a kill. I was imagining that the feather I found belonged to some hapless bird, perhaps a dove, that ended up in the hawk’s belly. Gruesome, but that’s the way it goes. There are also the seeds, as you pointed out: hope, life! 😉

  7. Beautiful picture…..
    Happy Sunday evening!

  8. sad, yet hopeful lament

  9. an interesting walk you took us on – beautiful birds the hawk. thanks. ☺

  10. Beautiful image and haiku! Thanks for sharing the love up-close with I Heart Macro.

    I do hope you’ll add a “patch” to this year’s gratitude word quilt… instructions for how to participate are at the top of my blog. It is very simple, just takes a few breaths and a moment or two to writ

  11. Hawk Harvest…great line MMT (for the Hawk at least)

    Morning Shimmer

Please Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.