Spirit

Photobucket
 

not a breath of wind
to drive away the Spirit
from familiar haunts


 
© 2011 by Magical Mystical Teacher
 
Photo: Zacatecas Cathedral, Zacatecas, México
 
More One Single Impression poems with the theme “Wind” here
 
More Haiku My Heart at Recuerda Mi Corazon here
 
More Skywatch Friday photos here
 
More Himmelsk photos here

Posted on June 24, 2011, in Haiku My Heart, Himmelsk, Mexico, my digital photos, my haiku, One Single Impression, Sky Watch Friday. Bookmark the permalink. 17 Comments.

  1. Hi MMT … very beautiful photos. To think of how they had to work so hard to lay the bricks, one by one, when they built the cathedral.

    Hope your weekend is wonderful!

    Kathy M.

  2. Beautiful. I like the old and the new in this photo and the words that go with it.

  3. Beautiful architecture in the background. What a contrast to the buildings surrounding it!

  4. I am hushed by this …I want to return

  5. interesting little word play with “wind,” “Spirit,” and “familiar haunts.”

    your haiku puts me in mind of the verse in john 3:8:

    “The wind blows wherever it pleases. You hear its sound, but you cannot tell where it comes from or where it is going. So it is with everyone born of the Spirit.”

  6. summer sun on dome
    only a hint of sky’s breath
    reaches my dusty feet

  7. Spændende billede. 🙂

  8. Wonderful haiku and photo. I’ll have to hire you as a guide if I ever feel the urge to travel in Mexico. I’d love to see some of the cathedrals, churches, cemeterys, small towns and art that you have been showing us here.

    Peace

  9. The dome and the campanile rise toward heaven, above the city street, unfettered and unchanged by the activity below. It is a beautiful piece of architecture in a quaint part of the city. The spirit is in the people who are within the structure worshiping, I suspect. Lovely.
    Noelle

  10. Two worlds existing side by side joined together by spirit.

    Your words and image captures it all!

    Sue x

  11. I read this haiku over and over, going back to the photo and again read the haiku… it’s so beautiful and yet disturbing somehow… I don’t know how to explain exactly, but I love it! Enjoy the weekend!

  12. Hello MMT, great work this… loved it.. Yes, one year is being celebrated.. with more Haikus.. indeed..

  13. with reverence for your memories…

  14. How I love the sacred tucked in between the ordinary. Thanks for the photo and haiku.

  15. you would be hard pressed to drive me away from the mexico we love…or your delicious haiku!

    i am finally home and making the haiku rounds. so much beauty, so much love!

Please Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.