Imprecation

Wordle 15

 
To the thief who stole my guitar—
I know that Jesus enjoins me to turn the other cheek
and to pray for those who persecute me;
but this morning, still grieving my loss,
I prefer to live in the Old Testament, not the New,
and like the prophets of old, I have a vision for you:
May someone drive bamboo splinters under your fingernails
so that every strum of the stolen strings is exquisite agony.
May you live in constant fear that your deed will find you out.
May you hear voices accusing you in the night,
and may images of the torments of hell disturb your sleep.
May only weeds sprout in your garden,
and no beans or corn or squash grow there ever again.
May peaceful, holy moments flee from your life like dust before the wind.
May regret pierce your soul like ten thousand rusty knives,
with no one to stanch the bleeding.
And if ever you are caught,
may you be locked so long in a fortress
that you never walk out alive.
May the jangle of the jailer’s keys
be the first music you hear in the morning
and the last notes you hear at night.
And may I be privileged to hear your death rattles
just before the jailers carry you out feet first
to dump you in an unmarked grave.
So be it.
Amen.

 
 
© 2011 by Magical Mystical Teacher
 
More Wordle 15 with words from Wallace Stevens here
 
More The Poetry Pantry #60 here

Posted on August 2, 2011, in holy, Jesus, my poetry, New Testament, Old Testament, poetry, Poetry Pantry, pray, The Sunday Whirl. Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. Whoa! That is a wonder! Some imaginative curses. Those “May you” lines give a sweet touch of form. A Psalm of Condemnation sort of thing, since you mention the O.T. And the only wordle word that I even noticed was fortress, but it fits.
    Let me add my own:
    May the thief lose all the things he loves, one peg and string at a time.
    May you find better than you lose.

  2. Exquisite and pointed revenge piece. I especially enjoyed the bamboo shoots. I’m left wondering if someone really stole your guitar. 🙂 I pity the thief as your curses unfold. The jangle of the jailer’s key as the thief’s first and last sound brought a smile.

  3. A very vociferous opposition to a crime committed against you, as the hurting heart does flip-flops :)!! But the tempo of the poem is great and I can see the angry flames in the turbulent anger which is very effective indeed!! Made me smile too!! :)….But anger and hate brings harm to one who recalls!! so peace!!

    Loved your little poem and use of the prompt words are so apt inducing humor!! 😀

  4. Yikes! This is intense – such pure, visceral anger captured so creatively. I sense that writing it was a cathartic release for you, sort of like screaming into a pillow.

    My favorite line is: “May regret pierce your soul like ten thousand rusty knives.” It literally made me say Oh my God! out loud when I read it. Brilliant.

  5. Absolutely LOVED this! Having something stolen is such a personal violation in my humble opinion. Great piece!

  6. Wow, way to rain down some wrath! The prophets of old would count themselves privileged to be in your company.

    Great use of the wordle. I hope you recover your guitar soon.

    P.S. – Someone stole my church’s lawn mower a couple of weeks ago, and in the service the day the theft was discovered, my pastor prayed that the mower wouldn’t start and that the thief would be overcome with guilt and turn him/herself in to the police. Not quite on the level of your imprecations, but still, not exactly a “turn the other cheek” moment, either. 😉

  1. Pingback: Wordle 16 « The Sunday Whirl

Please Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.