Why Does this God Smile?

Photobucket
 

Why does this god smile?
Does he know something I don’t?
It is possible…

 
© Text and photo © 2012 by Magical Mystical Teacher
 
Photo: Intricate Huichol bead work, Museo Zacatecano, Zacatecas, México
 
More Sensational Haiku Wednesday with the theme “Freestyle” here
 
More One Single Impression poems with the theme “Smile” here
 
More Sunday Scribblings with the theme “Possible” here
 
More Straight Out of the Camera photos here
 
More Mellow Yellow Monday photos here
 
More Ruby Tuesday 2 photos here
 
More Macro Monday photos here
 
More I Heart Macro photos here
 
More REDnesday photos here

Posted on January 22, 2012, in Huichol, I Heart Macro, Macro Monday, Mellow Yellow Monday, Museo Zacatecano, One Single Impression, REDnesday, Ruby Tuesday 2, senryu, Sensational Haiku Wednesday, Straight Out of the Camera Sunday, Sunday Scribblings, Zacatecas. Bookmark the permalink. 53 Comments.

  1. He’s thinking of a very happy NYC retired teacher.

  2. What a beautiful creation!

  3. what a beautiful poem 🙂 visiting from MYM, hope that you can return the visit too.

  4. Beautiful image!

    I played too. Mine are here and here.

  5. Very colorful and interesting photo. I’d rather have a smiling God, than an angry one!

  6. The time and patience and artistry put into this piece is amazing!
    May God smile on you today.

  7. Very pretty stitch work you have here, MMT. 🙂

    To me this is an Indian god who will smile on
    his braves, sqaws and little papooses.
    (These names are what my generation has used
    all our lives and I do not mean anything
    derrogatory by using them here.)
    ..

  8. Sorry to have misspelled ‘derogatory’.
    It is easier to notice after I hit the
    ‘Post Comment’ button. 🙂
    ..

  9. God probably knows many things we don’t 🙂 Creative creation.

  10. He does look very benign!

  11. His smile reminds me of that of Thailand’s Reclining Buddha. So benign.

  12. Who knows what’s behind the smile…but I do know that looks like a colossal amount of work

    My post for Monday: LANTANA BLOSSOMS & BERRIES

  13. maybe he’s thinking how wonderfully someone has made an icon out of him 🙂

  14. Because it is Monday…. and on we go!

    Mollyxxx

  15. Maybe it’s just my Aspergery weakness at reading facial expressions speaking, but this doesn’t seem particularly ‘smiley’ to me; just kinda deadpan. Still, an interesting take on a well-crafted piece of work. Salute.

  16. That is very cool and so interesting. Thank’s for sharing this:) Love it!

    Visiting for RT2- hope you can stop by:)

    http://www.mommys4seasonsjourney.com/2012/01/sporty-design-sled.html

  17. I would say that it’s probable!

  18. Lovely art. Have a fabulous week.

    Liz @ MLC
    Liz @ MCN

  19. Something that you don’t know? Hard to fathom!

  20. kent.all-in-one-place.co.uk

    anyone can know more than me! My Ruby Tuesday 2 pics XXX Don

  21. Maybe something you want…Visiting from MYM!

  22. I thought I was alone until I read Ron’s comment
    I see more shock or surprise than a smile
    but you are right, the smile is in the eye of the beholder
    it is what I love about all art, we see what we see

  23. Ah very colorful…MM!

  24. He most likely knows something that none of us knows.

    Such beautiful needle work. It must have taken a long time to create!

  25. The needlework design reminds me of Aztec art! (Perhaps the squarish shapes!) For the same reason, it reminds me of art styles on rocks in the Kimberleys – far north Western Australia. This is so beautiful and love the question in your haiku!

  26. Wonderful haiku about the “smiling” god. I see the smile in the eyes if the needlework god, I’m sure of it. 🙂 Happy Ruby Tuesday!

  27. It may be more of a smirk than a smile. Smirks are bad news from gods.

  28. What a magnificent creation!

    Happy MM

  29. Great intriguing poem and picture.

  30. I guess he’s smiling because he is happy:)

    Visiting for Mellow Yellow Monday!

    Hope you can stop by:)

    http://www.cassandrasminicorner.com/2012/01/lysol-disinfecting-wipes.html

  31. Wonderful Macro of this piece. Smiling or Not it was very interesting and so were a lot of the comments.

  32. God smiles on us all the time in one way or another.

  33. LOTS to think about in your poem! Thanks!

  34. You really get around, don’t you? From the thumbnail photo I thought it was like a gingerbread house. I’m sure this took a lot longer to make.

  35. He looks like a god/person smiling and crying at the same time.
    Look how two golden tears are rolling from each eye. Then again his dimples are like flowers. I have spent quite some time learning to know this guy/ or his creators. I like what I see.

  36. are these beads? Or stitches?

  37. Such gorgeous bead work!

  38. It’s beautiful and colorful.

  39. This is beautiful. I can see patience is needed to complete this one. 😀 When my eyes were still in good shape, I was able to halfway complete a bead project back in college. Thanks for visiting.

  40. I only discovered at the second glance that it was a face !! Very nice combination of all themes !

  41. Beautiful embroidery work.

  42. Wow, it is beautiful!

  43. That’s fascinating – I love it!

Please Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.