Handmaid of the Lord

Talavera Virgin, Atotonilco
Virgin of Guadalupe, Galeria Atotonilco, Atotonilco, Guanajuato, México
 
And Mary said, Behold the handmaid of the Lord; be it unto me according to thy word. And the angel departed from her.
Luke 1:38, King James Version
 


With a humble heart
you received the word of God,
Handmaid of the Lord.

 
Text and photo © 2012 by Magical Mystical Teacher
 
More Blue Monday
 
More A Virgin a Day at Recuerda Mi Corazon

Posted on December 10, 2012, in A Virgin a Day, Atotonilco, Blue Monday, Guanajuato, Mexico, Recuerda Mi Corazon, senryu. Bookmark the permalink. 23 Comments.

  1. What beautiful tile work of blue. Thanks for sharing.

    Happy Blue Monday.

  2. You are quite the traveler! What an interesting piece of art-those heads serving as a border are ‘different’! But I love the image and also find myself getting fixed on the background swirls too. What a visual feast!

  3. beautiful tile work. Sorry about re-posting my comment, for some reason I keep losing it. Love your Haiku and of course Mary is always beautiful. Thak you.

  4. Very interesting piece of art. I like it a lot.

  5. This is a joyful piece!
    I always wondered why they called Gabriel a handmaid and then the patriarchal church tried to insist the Angel was male. But maybe i am ultra-sensitive…things I just thought about while I was bored during mass when I was a kid.

  6. Yes, Lisa — she’s the Angel Gabrielle. And this tile work is fabulous, not only for its depiction of Our Lady, but for the little three-dimensional figures of cherubs bordering the tile work.

  7. So precious and so powerful!

    Visiting from Blue Monday- hope you can stop by:

    http://www.cassandrasminicorner.com/2012/12/270-classic-cartoons-to-watch.html

  8. Marvelous photo and art work ~ lovely haiku ~ blessings

    (A Creative Harbor) ~ aka ArtMusedog and Carol ^_^

  9. So very beautiful with perfect haiku to match.

  10. A lovely and inspiring post.

  11. This Mary looks gentle and innocent……..and I just love those angels!

  12. Another tile portrait. Lovely.

  13. I just put out my Mexican Nativity Scene. Beautiful!

  14. yes…those lovely cherub faces all around!

    humble, such a lovely attribute of inner beauty.

  15. Beautiful! Merry Christmas!

  16. Wow wow this post took my breath away!! There is an aura of absolute acceptance here! Wonderful

Please Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.