Clerking

San Miguel store
A neighborhood store in San Miguel de Allende, Guanajuato, México

 
 

lipsticks on the left
hairspray on the right
a narrow aisle between them
 
clerking in a white smock
she squeezes her hips
through the straits
looking for something
a customer wants
 
seldom does she walk home
after her shift is over
without wondering how she can
do this chore for the rest of her life
 
the wisp of a dangling spider web
sticks to her left eyelash
startling her out of her reverie
and she brushes it away
along with her thoughts

 

Poem and photo © 2017 by Magical Mystical Teacher
 
   
More Sunday’s Whirligig #118
   
More Poetry Pantry #360 at Poets United

Posted on July 2, 2017, in Poetry Picnic, Poets United, Ruby Tuesday Too, Sunday's Whirligig and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 18 Comments.

  1. I can relate. I really liked managing the Bookstore, but eventually realized that I was hiding and there was a much bigger world outside of its sense of safety, and just above minimum wage. Began to get invitations to teach and that was the start of a whole new life.

    Elizabeth

    https://soulsmusic.wordpress.com/2017/04/14/april-pad-challenge-day-14/

  2. Ha, i like that startling spider at the end. That happened to me, coming out from a second job one night where i had felt much the same wonderings.

  3. “startling her out of her reverie”…an important moment captured here…

  4. Rosemary Nissen-Wade

    A moving portrait, powerful in its objective description.

  5. That spider web was such a nice touch! I liked it all!

  6. To be there every day is such a burden… the spider web make me feels an absence of customers.

  7. seldom does she walk home
    after her shift is over
    without wondering how she can
    do this chore for the rest of her life………..I think this really captures what a huge percentage of people feel most working days.

  8. Written with the pen of a people-watcher. The spider web on eyelash captured the drabness of her life, somehow. Great write!

  9. You have describe what most of us feel sometimes when life becomes monotonous… sigh..

  10. Oh what a interesting character! I think I’ve met her at some point in my life at street vendors or marketplaces I’ve visited. thanks for the beauty. very profound!

  11. Where have all those little shops gone? The owner or family would do everything and when you walked in immediately you would have the urge to buy more than you came in for.

  12. Well captured ticking of a life.

  13. The drudgery of daily life really resonates here..long may she dream on her way home

  14. I loved the last line.
    I could imagine this woman walking down the aisles with wide hips.
    Thanks for sharing

    Click Here to see what Mrs. Dash Says

  15. Many of us have been there at some time I guess, I certainly have. You described the situation just perfectly

    Come Whirl with me!

  16. I wonder, wonder, wonder…

  17. charming.

Please Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.