Kick the Song

blueboat_zps7446ecd3
Fishing boat, Puerto Nuevo, Baja California Norte, México

 
 

Kick the song ahead of you,
kick it into the mist and spume,
even though you are shaking,
and three women spinning yarn
are laughing at you.
Kick the song of ruin,
kick it over the boat
where the grey-headed vagrant
slips into sleep
under the spell of opioids.
Kick the song out of the way,
so that no one ever hears it again.
Do not be afraid.
Kick.
Kick.
Kick.

 

Poem © 2017 and photo © 2013 by Magical Mystical Teacher
 
   
More Sunday’s Whirligig #128
   
More Poetry Pantry #370 at Poets United

Posted on September 10, 2017, in Baja California Norte, Mexico, Poetry Pantry, Poets United, Puerto Nuevo, Sunday's Whirligig and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 23 Comments.

  1. I feel the energy in this poem, and I like it. I bet this poem felt GOOD to write. Sometimes we just need to KICK things in our midst & then kick them again!

  2. And kick we will – superb!

  3. there was a stroppy poet called mmt
    who kicked up a storm with enthusiasm and glee
    she didn’t like housework and kicked in the door
    complaining and cursing while mopping the floor
    🙂
    smiles….please don’t kick me !

    • magicalmysticalteacher

      This is hilarious! (I’d never kick you for this.)

      On Sun, Sep 10, 2017 at 9:29 AM, Magical Mystical Teacher wrote:

      >

  4. The three women spinning yarn makes me think of the Nordic Mythology and the three Norns spinning our destinies…

  5. I love the scene painted in this poem. The three women, spinning and laughing, the singer kicking the song…..

  6. Kicking ruin over the boat … Oh yeah!

  7. Can you kick it? is what is now running through my head 😉

  8. *kicking it!*

    I love that the poem reads like a chant, a spell, a song…

  9. I love the energy of this poem….I need to kick a few things over the boat myself!

  10. How we would love to kick these annoyances out of our system but writing about it is almost as good.

  11. …and out it goes. (those tales)

  12. Rosemary Nissen-Wade

    Full of energy and determination!

  13. Great I feel the urge to kick now

  14. The song of ruin.. that’s right, let’s kick it harder!

  15. The thing with songs or other stuff is that we want to kick it, but it stays in our heads anyway.

    • magicalmysticalteacher

      Once a song is in our heads, it’s hard to forget it or to get rid of it.

      On Sun, Sep 10, 2017 at 10:36 PM, Magical Mystical Teacher wrote:

      >

  16. Kicking a storm and enjoying it! Enjoyed the humor most, MMT!

    Hank

  17. Kicking it 😀

    This is wonderfully written!❤️

  18. I agree it feels like a spell- a nice firm banishing one. Of course I have to wonder just what was in that song that caused the protagonist to want to banish it so strongly.

    • magicalmysticalteacher

      It was a song of ruin. That would make me want to kick it away too!

      On Mon, Sep 11, 2017 at 5:28 PM, Magical Mystical Teacher wrote:

      >

  19. Love this poem, MMT. It is filled with strength, and humor.

  20. The instrumental “Tequila” was in my mind for several hours the other day. Sure I sounded crazy just saying tequila every now and then. Good thing no one was listening.

Please Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.