Do Not Menace Me


Do not menace me with rope, swaying from a tree,
Even though the hangman winks, while phantoms laugh with glee.
Cheer me as I’m sleeping, darling, underneath the sod;
Hear me through the casket’s keyhole as I pray to God,
Begging that the creep who hanged me won’t outlast this day;
Quiet now, the storm winds welter, wailing on their way!

 
  
Poem © 2019 by Magical Mystical Teacher
 
 
More Sunday’s Whirligig #235
 
More Poetry Pantry #496 at Poets United
 

Posted on October 13, 2019, in light verse, Poetry Pantry, Poets United, Sunday's Whirligig and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 22 Comments.

  1. What a perfectly written poem – although not so sure about those ropes..they are suitably chilling

    • magicalmysticalteacher

      As ropes should be at this time of year! 😉

      On Sun, Oct 13, 2019 at 3:56 AM Magical Mystical Teacher wrote:

      >

  2. Wow, a very Halloweeny poem. I love the rhythm and rhyme.

    • magicalmysticalteacher

      Thanks, Sherry. I’m having fun with rhyme these days, especially when I can write something nonsensical.

      On Sun, Oct 13, 2019 at 5:31 AM Magical Mystical Teacher wrote:

      >

  3. Well THIS certainly is an eerie one. But fits right in with Halloween. And I can hear those wailing winds!

    • magicalmysticalteacher

      Thanks for your words of appreciation, Mary. Now, excuse me while I button up my coat against those wailing winds!

      On Sun, Oct 13, 2019 at 5:31 AM Magical Mystical Teacher wrote:

      >

  4. You’ve been bitten by the Halloween bug! Very ominous-especially those ropes!

  5. This one makes me think of The Halloween Tree, by Ray Bradbury. One of my favorite books. I love the eeriness of it, perfect for the season.

  6. This is perfectly creepy. And I’m not laying odds for the hangman.

    • magicalmysticalteacher

      Hangmen are slippery, or so I’ve heard.

      On Sun, Oct 13, 2019 at 10:36 AM Magical Mystical Teacher wrote:

      >

  7. This is deliciously spooky!! Perfect for the season ❤️

  8. I hear a wicked laugh at the end of this!

  9. Before we make judgement perhaps you should let us know why you are being hanged…is you lover still alive i wonder?

  10. Lisa at Greenbow

    It has been such a windy day as I read this. The moon is brilliant and it is quite creepy reading such a thing. Just the thing for this time of year. 🙂

  11. Those glee laughing phantoms are creepy as hell!!

  12. Fascinating! Now I want the back story.

  13. Margaret Elizabeth Bednar

    Just fabulous! What’s funny is my daughter just came in (this second) and said there is a white rope hanging from a tree outside her window – the leaves are dropping and it is noticeable now. We moved in a few months ago. I read this poem to her and she is a bit freaked out. Ha ha. Perfect timing.

    • magicalmysticalteacher

      Oh, good! Glad it “worked” for you!

      On Wed, Oct 16, 2019 at 4:07 PM Magical Mystical Teacher wrote:

      >

  14. Margaret Elizabeth Bednar

    something poetic in his walk… a tale can be woven, I’m sure.

Please Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.