Six-Word Saturday: Sleepless

6WordSaturday

I’d like a break from insomnia!

Click here for more Six-Word Saturday.

Posted on January 9, 2010, in Six-Word Saturday. Bookmark the permalink. 37 Comments.

  1. Just take a short nap
    whenever you can get one
    ten to six is best

    Happy 6WS(!) M.M.T!
    ..

  2. Me too. It’s now 7:16 am. I’ve been up for 26 hours straight and it doesnt look like I’ll be heading to bed for at least another two hours. Though part of my insomnia is stemming from sheer determination to get this last thing done (grrr)

    • magicalmysticalteacher

      Twenty-six hours straight? Oh, my goodness! You’ve got me beat by a full day! I just keep waking up several times during the night–which is really annoying. I hope you get that “last thing done” and finally are able to crash. Nothing refreshes like sleep (as we insomniacs know only too well).

      Thanks for stopping by!

  3. Hoping some sleep comes your way.

  4. The day is a whole different world after a good night’s sleep.

    My husband suffers terribly. The only tyhing that had me sleeping in fits and starts last night was the COLD weather and not wearing enough 😉

    Too much info!

    • magicalmysticalteacher

      I agree that the day looks different after a good night’s sleep, Studio Lolo. I’m just trying to get that sleep! 🙂

  5. ~for many months my eye ball are popping open at 2:45~3:00 in the morning…WIDE AWAKE…by 7:00 at night feel as if a truck has hit me…uugghh…may you find sleep carryinig you off into sweet dreams…brightest blessings~

    • magicalmysticalteacher

      I don’t mind rising at 3 a.m to start my day., but I DO mind waking up at 1 a.m. and not being able to get back to sleep! Thanks, Faerwillow, for wishes for sweet dreams. Maybe they will come in a catnap today…

  6. Common affliction. I feel your pain.

    Cheers!
    JzB

    • magicalmysticalteacher

      “Affliction” is exactly the word to describe insomnia! Oh, and there’s nothing cheerful about it! 🙂

  7. I often find myself rambling late at night without rest in sight. It is such a horrible feeling. I really hope you can rest and sleep tonight.

    • magicalmysticalteacher

      Robynbeth, thank you for your good wishes. Thank goodness, I don’t have to go to work today or I’d be a real mess! 🙂

  8. awwww…i struggle from that too.
    hope you get out of that rut soon

    happy S.S
    thanks for stopping by

    • magicalmysticalteacher

      Insomnia is a very deep rut indeed! How easy it is to get swallowed up in sleeplessness! Thanks for your visit, Tina!

  9. Insomnia is a real head pain
    A six word response from the
    Fortress.

  10. i have a hard time sleeping too. i don’t have any fool-proof remedy.sometimes i just get out of bed and read. other times i take the dog out.
    sometimes it works, sometimes not….
    i hope you get relief soon!

    • magicalmysticalteacher

      Yup, I know what you mean: sometimes one thing works, and sometimes it doesn’t. It’s all a crap shoot–you never know how the night is going to turn out!

  11. Me too 😦
    I found a nifty wee ap for my iPhone though, that uses the accelerometor to monitor your sleep. You set your alarm for the time that you want to wake up, (if you get some sleep) and then it gauges the quality or stage of sleep that you are in, and wakes you up at an appropriate time.
    It has fancy graphs that let you see how you sleep, and I’ve found it pretty scary when I realize Ive only been getting 4 hours of sleep a night and only 1 of those hours is quality sleep.

    Have you tried Melatonin or Valerian root to help you sleep?

    Happy 6WS

    • magicalmysticalteacher

      Alas, I have no iPhone, but I can easily get my hands on valerian root. (Melatonin never did anything for me.) Thanks for the suggestion!

  12. Truer words were NEVER SPOKEN! What is UP with this insomnia nonsense???

    I’ve given up all caffeine (well, I tried that, and it didn’t work, so I stopped that madness… at least during the daylight hours) tried tuckering my body out during the day… getting more sleep… nada.

    You know what one nasty a$$ nurse said to me?? THE “M” word!

    They expect her out of the hospital any time now.

  13. err.. “getting more sleep” should have read “getting more fresh air”. Guess I’ve got dementia too.

  14. Oh dear. Insomnia’s rough. I hope you find some relief soon.

    • magicalmysticalteacher

      If I can get six hours of sleep per night, I feel rich! It’s now early Sunday morning, I got my six hours (although not uninterrupted), and I’m feeling…rich! Thanks for stopping by.

  15. I’ve been taking Melatonin for a while and it seems to help. I won’t take any prescription stuff as it’s incredibly addictive.

  16. Hope your nights become more restful 🙂

    • magicalmysticalteacher

      Thank you for the good wishes! It’s now early Sunday morning, but at least I managed to get in six hours of sleep. With any luck, I’ll also get a nap sometime today, so I should be in pretty good shape!

  17. Love this … and I’m reminded that the guys next door partied LOUDLY last night from about 8:30 through the wee hours of the morning (around 2:30am … about an hour before I arose) so I’m not going to be very alert today. Hoping YOU get better rest in the days ahead. I remember how hard it was to teach when sleep deprived.
    Hugs and blessings,

    • magicalmysticalteacher

      Those late-night party-animals really make my blood boil. For some reason, they think that their racket doesn’t disturb anyone else. I had a wonderfully refreshing nap today. That, coupled with an invigorating phone call from from a teacher-friend in another state has put me in good shape for Monday morning. Thanks for your good wishes! 🙂

  18. Understood. I’m on a bit of a break from my own sleep troubles but I always have this fear they’ll crop back up. I hope you get some rest soon.

    Thanks for playing 6WS.

Please Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.